Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $13.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

A Friend of the Family

by

A Friend of the Family Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Pete Dizinoff has spent years working toward a life that would be, by all measures, deemed successful. A skilled internist, he's built a thriving practice in suburban New Jersey. He has a devoted wife, a network of close friends, and an impressive house, and most important, he has a son, Alec, on whom he's pinned all his hopes. Pete has afforded Alec every opportunity, bailed him out of close calls with the law, and even ensured his acceptance into a good college.

But Pete never counted on the wild card: Laura, his best friend's daughter — ten years older than Alec, irresistibly beautiful, with a past so shocking that it's never spoken of. When Laura sets her sights on Alec, Pete sees his plans for his son not just unraveling but being destroyed completely. Believing he has only the best of intentions, he sets out to derail this romance and rescue his son. He could never have foreseen how his whole world would shatter in the process.

Lauren Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

Review:

"In her wonderful second novel, Grodstein (Reproduction Is the Flaw of Love) traces a suburban crisis and gives especially perceptive attention to the father-son bond. Pete Dizinoff has it pretty good — an internist with a successful practice, loving wife, nice house in a safe New Jersey suburb and his best friend living close by — but there's some nasty muck beneath the surface. Some years back, Laura, the daughter of Pete's best friend, Joe, was suspected of murdering her baby upon birth. Now in her early 30s, Laura's returned to town after several years of leisurely work and travel and is seducing Pete's college dropout son, Alec, who is also back in town, pursuing the life of a painter in his parents' garage. Laura does not fit into Pete's idea of what's best for his son, but when Pete intervenes, things spin wildly out of control. Add to this a malpractice case, and Pete senses his life is falling apart. An astute dissector of male aspiration, Grodstein brings great insight into a father's protective urge for his son in this gripping portrait of an American family in crisis." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[S]uch an incisive diagnosis of aspirational America that someone should hand out copies at Little League games and ballet recitals....Horrifyingly plausible and deeply poignant, A Friend of the Family will leave you shaken and chastened — and grateful for the warning." Ron Charles, The Washington Post

Review:

"Stunning....An unqualified success....Grodstein's sentences are finely made and precisely fitted to one another and her story....If there's any justice in the world, A Friend of the Family will be her breakout book....She has written a novel that will leave her reader sitting up, sifting the evidence in the dead of night." David Thoreen, The Boston Globe

Synopsis:

Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

Synopsis:

Pete Dizinoff, a skilled and successful New Jersey internist, has a loving and devoted wife, a network of close friends, an impressive house, and, most of all, a son, Alec, now nineteen, on whom he has pinned all his hopes. But Pete hadn't expected his best friend's troubled daughter to set her sights on his boy. When Alec falls under her spell, Pete sets out to derail the romance, never foreseeing the devastating consequences.

In a riveting story of suburban tragedy, Lauren Grodstein charts a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

About the Author

Lauren Grodstein's books include the novels and Reproduction is the Flaw of Love and the story collection The Best of Animals. Her pseudonymous Girls Dinner Club was a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age.

Her work has been translated into German, Italian, French, Turkish, and other languages, and her essays and stories have been widely anthologized.

Lauren teaches creative writing at Rutgers-Camden, where she helps administer the college's MFA program. She lives with her husband and son in New Jersey.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781616200176
Author:
Grodstein, Lauren
Publisher:
Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20101131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
320

Other books you might like

  1. The Truth about Forever
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Breath, Eyes, Memory (Oprah's Book Club) Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Drop City
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Far Bright Star Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. The Language of Baklava Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. The Tender Land: A Family Love Story Used Trade Paper $10.00

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Miscellaneous Award Winners
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

A Friend of the Family Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - English 9781616200176 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In her wonderful second novel, Grodstein (Reproduction Is the Flaw of Love) traces a suburban crisis and gives especially perceptive attention to the father-son bond. Pete Dizinoff has it pretty good — an internist with a successful practice, loving wife, nice house in a safe New Jersey suburb and his best friend living close by — but there's some nasty muck beneath the surface. Some years back, Laura, the daughter of Pete's best friend, Joe, was suspected of murdering her baby upon birth. Now in her early 30s, Laura's returned to town after several years of leisurely work and travel and is seducing Pete's college dropout son, Alec, who is also back in town, pursuing the life of a painter in his parents' garage. Laura does not fit into Pete's idea of what's best for his son, but when Pete intervenes, things spin wildly out of control. Add to this a malpractice case, and Pete senses his life is falling apart. An astute dissector of male aspiration, Grodstein brings great insight into a father's protective urge for his son in this gripping portrait of an American family in crisis." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[S]uch an incisive diagnosis of aspirational America that someone should hand out copies at Little League games and ballet recitals....Horrifyingly plausible and deeply poignant, A Friend of the Family will leave you shaken and chastened — and grateful for the warning."
"Review" by , "Stunning....An unqualified success....Grodstein's sentences are finely made and precisely fitted to one another and her story....If there's any justice in the world, A Friend of the Family will be her breakout book....She has written a novel that will leave her reader sitting up, sifting the evidence in the dead of night."
"Synopsis" by , Grodstein delivers a riveting story in the tradition of The Ice Storm, American Beauty, and Little Children, charting a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.
"Synopsis" by , Pete Dizinoff, a skilled and successful New Jersey internist, has a loving and devoted wife, a network of close friends, an impressive house, and, most of all, a son, Alec, now nineteen, on whom he has pinned all his hopes. But Pete hadn't expected his best friend's troubled daughter to set her sights on his boy. When Alec falls under her spell, Pete sets out to derail the romance, never foreseeing the devastating consequences.

In a riveting story of suburban tragedy, Lauren Grodstein charts a father's fall from grace as he struggles to save his family, his reputation, and himself.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.