Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

PowellsBooks.Blog

Authors, readers, critics, media — and booksellers.

 

Archive for the 'Book to Film' Category

Read It Before They Screen It: The Dark Tower, Blink, Flash Forward, and More!

Is it possible that fans of Stephen King and epic fantasy can hear anything better than the news that King's Dark Tower series may finally be coming to film?

How about this: it just might be overseen by the director of the new Star Trek film and one of the head writers of Lost.

"Damon Lindelof and I talked to Mr. King," [J. J.] Abrams told IGN while promoting the upcoming "Star Trek" film. "We got the rights for ['Dark Tower'] as a film. Damon is obviously still on 'Lost' and we've been working on 'Star Trek' together. As soon as 'Lost' is done, hopefully we'll begin tackling that."

Hey, you've got a little drool next to your mouth, there. Nothing to be embarrassed about. Go ahead and dab, I won't make fun.

÷ ÷ ÷

In case you're wondering just what sort of film will be made from Malcolm Gladwell's non-fiction bestseller Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking, here comes news that Al Pacino may be signed to star.

Traffic screenwriter Stephen Gaghan, who turned Robert Baer's similarly non-linear (and non-fiction) See No Evil: The True Story of a Ground Soldier in the CIA's War on Terrorism into Syriana, is handling the adaptation.

Gaghan's script will center on the relationship between an older man (Pacino) and the twentysomething son he was never close to. The two reconnect early on in the pic, and the boy, an idealistic drifter who's teaching in a downtown New York school, and the father, a finance type living in Connecticut, must navigate their new relationship.

Oh yes, the book. Well, the son has that Blink thing going — he can size up people and situations on a dime. The Pacino character spots this, and both wants to help the boy find himself and use him to make some dough on Wall Street. It's "Scent of a Woman" with a finance-y twist — colorful, self-involved older guy mentoring younger ingenue for reasons both selfless and selfish.

What do you think, readers? Utilizing Gladwell's own theory to blink at this concept, are you going to miss the film? Or get an eyeful?


Read It Before They Screen It: The Interpretation of Murder, Deadpool, and Too Late to Say Goodbye

Jed Rubenfeld's thriller The Interpretation of Murder is headed to the big screen via Warner Bros.

Story follows a Sigmund Freud protege who discovers a trail of sadistic murders in turn-of-the-century New York.

[...] Deal marks the first studio project for Holmes, who co-wroe, helmed and was exec producer of "House of Saddam," a dissection of the ruthless reign of Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein. The mini aired on HBO in the U.S.

In a starred review, Booklist hailed: "Rubenfeld renders rich, complex characters, vivid period detail, and prose riddled with heady references to Hamlet."

On the other hand, Esquire predicted, "It might make a fine movie someday, but as a book it will leave readers cold." Guess we'll find out.

÷ ÷ ÷

Fresh from the hit X-Men Origins: Wolverine, plans are already underway to give Deadpool, "the wise-cracking mercenary played in the film by Ryan Reynolds," his own spin-off.

Deadpool is known as "the merc with a mouth," a character that under

...


Read It Before They Screen It: Crazy for the Storm, Cold Skin, and Death Note

Warner Bros. has picked up the film rights for Norman Ollestad's Crazy for the Storm: A Memoir of Survival, due in stores next month.

Ollestad's memoir recounts how his father infused his love for extreme sports in him as a boy, pressing him to become a competitive surfer and skier, experience that allowed him to survive when a plane crash stranded him on an icy mountaintop at age 11.

Publishers Weekly proclaims, "Ollestad's unyielding concentration on the themes of courage, love and endurance seep into every character portrait, every scene, making this book an inspiring, fascinating read."

Don't miss Ollestad's reading at Powell's City of Books on Wednesday, June 17th!

÷ ÷ ÷

David Slade — who's set to direct the third Twilight film, Eclipse, after helming the (most likely much bloodier) film version of the graphic novel 30 Days of Night — gets to take a break ...


Read It Before They Screen It: Elmore Leonard, Gulliver’s Travels, and Tell No One (Again)

Elmore Leonard's short story "Fire in the Hole" is the basis for a pilot being shot for the FX network for a not-yet-named series from creator/exec producer Graham Yost (Speed). Timothy Olyphant, a.k.a. Sheriff Bullock from Deadwood, has been cast in the lead as U.S. Marshal Raylan Givens.

"He has a certain jaggedness, but he also loves his job," Yost said. "He is like an anachronism: He wears a hat, cowboy boots and a holster on his hip. It's a little bit like he was born 100 years too late."

The story appears in Leonard's collection When the Women Come Out to Dance.

Charles Taylor wrote in The New York Times Book Review, "In terms of flawless craft and, more important, in terms of pleasure, When the Women Come Out to Dance is top-notch work from one of our most gifted and consistently entertaining writers."

÷ ÷ ÷


Read It Before They Screen It: Patricia Cornwell, Isaac Asimov, and Mordecai Richler

Angelina Jolie portraying Patricia Cornwell's bestselling medical examiner Kay Scarpetta on the big screen? It could happen.

According to Variety, production company Fox 2000 has acquired the screen rights to Cornwell's series character as a vehicle for Jolie.

There are 16 Scarpetta novels, meaning a franchise is hoped for, but this film won't be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of The Silence of the Lambs and Seven.

Remember what a hit franchise Jolie and Denzel Washington sparked with their film of Jeffrey Deaver's The Bone Collector?

Oh, um, whoops. Never mind about that.

÷ ÷ ÷

Kevin Macdonald, who directed the current hit political thriller State of Play, has ...


Read It Before They Screen It: The White Tiger, Nice, and a Millionaire D-Bag Who Did a Lot of Drugs

Aravind Adiga's Booker Prize-winner (and 2009 Morning News Tournament of Books nominee) The White Tiger has been optioned for film by newly formed production entity Smuggler Films.

"Tiger" follows a murderous rickshaw puller who takes advantage of corruption and poverty while India struggles to reinvent itself as the nation of the future.

"Darkly comic....Balram's appealingly sardonic voice and acute observations of the social order are both winning and unsettling," sayeth The New Yorker.

÷ ÷ ÷

Some books never die, even ones that have been out of print for years and didn't really make much of a splash when they were in print.

Exhibit A: Nice by Jen Sacks, which is getting the big-screen treatment "as a potential star vehicle for Reese Witherspoon."

The protag is a magazine writer who accidentally kills her boyfriend. She finds a way to get rid of the body and discovers that killing boyfriends is easier than breaking up with them.

Published

...


Read It Before They Screen It: Game Change, Remote Control, and The Heartbreakers

Last fall, at the tail-end of his second term, President Bush got a big-screen bio with Oliver Stone's W. But it looks like President Obama may make get the film treatment right away.

According to Variety:

HBO Films has optioned Game Change: Obama and the Clintons, McCain and Palin, and the Race of a Lifetime, an in-the-works Harper Collins book by political writers Mark Halperin and John Heilemann.

The pay network has hired Blood Diamond scribe Charles Leavitt to adapt the behind-the-scenes look at the 2008 presidential election from the perspective of the candidates and their respective camps.

Casting ideas, anyone?

Let's get Will Smith as Obama out of the way, and Tina Fey as Sarah Palin is a given — so how about McCain, Biden, and the Clintons? (No fair picking John Travolta and Emma Thompson — they already played the First Couple once.)

÷ ÷ ÷

Sony Pictures ...


Read It Before They Screen It: Umbrella Academy and Paranoia

The hit Dark Horse Comics series written by My Chemical Romance singer Gerard Way seems headed toward theaters.

According to Variety:

Universal Pictures is planning to make "Umbrella Academy" the first project to come out of its three-year production pact with Dark Horse Comics.

[...] "Umbrella Academy," which bowed in 2007 and spawned a second series, revolves around a disbanded group of seven superheroes who reunite after the death of their adoptive father, an alien disguised as a famous entrepreneur, and carry out his plan to save the world.

Since the comic basically reads like X-Men written by Wes Anderson, I hope the Rushmore director is at the top of the list to take the helm.

No word yet on whether a certain band might record some songs for a certain soundtrack album.

÷ ÷ ÷

Joseph Finder's bestselling thriller Paranoia is plotting to get you... into movie theaters.

[...] Story

...


Read It Before They Screen It: Twelve and The Box of Delights

Joel Schumacher, the widely regarded auteur of such cinema classics as 8MM (a.k.a. Seven Part II) and Batman & Robin: Revenge of the Bat-Nipples, is set to direct a film version of Nick McDonell's novel Twelve.

Variety reports:

In 2002, then 17-year-old McDonell wrote a novel that starkly depicted teenage drug use and decadence on the Upper East Side.

Story follows a high school dropout-turned-drug dealer. His lucrative life sours when the dealer's cousin is brutally murdered on an East Harlem playground and his best friend is arrested for the crime.

"As fast as speed, as relentless as acid....Mr. McDonell sketches in these characters with brisk authority, deftly cutting from one subplot to another in quick, cinematic takes," raved Michiko Kakutani in the New York Times.

After Twelve and Twilight director Catherine Hardwicke's debut Thirteen, I can only imagine what cinematic wonders await us in Eleven, ...


Read It Before They Screen It: The World without Us

Alan Weisman's bestselling, National Book Critics Circle Award-nominated, beloved-by-everyone (who-wasn't-in-the-White-House-at-the-time) book The World without Us may be coming to theaters.

Fox has acquired film rights to Alan Weisman's environmental nonfiction book The World Without Us, with the intent of turning it into a tentpole feature for Mark Protosevich to write and Francis Lawrence to direct.

The book, a best-seller and a critical favorite, took on the idea of life on Earth if humans were suddenly to disappear. The book explored how edifices and houses would deteriorate, how long and which man-made objects would linger and last, the environmental impact nuclear waste and other pollutants would have left unchecked and how nature would spread over built environments.

And it won't be a documentary, either:

Fox is not aiming to make a documentary but rather a fictional feature buttressed by the book's science. It would, for example, show an event that would lead to man's disappearance.

Without Us would be a nice companion to Fox's other end-of-humanity films, such as its 2004

...


spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.