Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Daily Dose
 
Comment and Win!
Comment on a product and you could win. The reader whose pick we use has until day's end to claim the gift certificate. Otherwise, we add an extra $20 credit to the next day's prize!
Dose me!
Enter your email address below and receive a new Daily Dose in your inbox each morning.


Click here to read about Powells.com's privacy policy.
Friday, July 31st
Today's Dose by Diana from Fairview, Oregon
Congratulations, Diana, for claiming your $20 gift certificate!


Go Set a Watchman Go Set a Watchman
by Harper Lee

I loved it. There are laugh-out-loud flashbacks and heartbreaking conflicts between the characters. I started reading and did not put it down until I ran out of pages to read. (read more)

Your price $19.59
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies


Previous Doses
July 29th
Selected by Shasta from Shoreline, Washington


The God of Small Things The God of Small Things
by Arundhati Roy

The topic is an important and painful one, but the writing is what really took my breath away. The rhythm of this book is unlike anything I've ever read -- the author tells us what will happen, then circles ever closer filling in details like a spirograph. If you care about Indian culture or classism in its many forms, read this book. But if you care about writing, let this book seep into your pores. (read more)

Your price $7.50
(Used - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
July 27th
Selected by Sean from Hood River, Oregon


After the People Lights Have Gone Off After the People Lights Have Gone Off
by Stephen Graham Jones

Excellent set of stories, each uniquely written and told with a sharp, witty, and sometimes ruthless tongue. There are stories in this book that will frighten you, make you feel numb and thoughtful, and some that will never leave you, even after all the people lights have gone off. I loved most of them, and I love Jones' straightforward storytelling style. (read more)

Your price $15.95
(New - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
July 25th
Selected by Chris from Huntington Station, New York


The Guild of Saint Cooper The Guild of Saint Cooper
by Shya Scanlon

This book reads like a mash-up of Philip K. Dick and Haruki Murakami. It is compelling and an absolute must read for fans of 'Twin Peaks' and David Lynch. (read more)

Your price $12.50
(Used - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
July 30th
Selected by Donna from Seattle, Washington


Being Nixon: A Man Divided Being Nixon: A Man Divided
by Evan Thomas

By my count, this was my twelfth Nixon biography....for those fascinated with Nixon's rise and fall, and with Watergate, it should go on the to-read list. It's just too good to miss! (read more)

Your price $35.00
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies
July 28th
Selected by Kim from Boise, Idaho


Station Eleven Station Eleven
by Emily St. John Mandel

I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. It was a bit anxiety-inducing but I like how it made me think about all the things we take for granted... lights, warm water, A/C, cell phones, the internet, airplanes, etc. Which in a matter of days can disappear. But I really liked how the author went back and forth before the pandemic and after and wove all the character's stories together. Best book I have read this year. (read more)

Your price $15.95
(New - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
July 26th
Selected by Patrick from Portland, Oregon


Leaving Orbit: Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight Leaving Orbit: Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight
by Margaret Lazarus Dean

This is a wonderful read about Margaret Dean's visits to Cape Canaveral to witness the last three space shuttle launches. Along the way she meets many fascinating characters, provides a brief history of America's space program, and comments extensively about the previous writers on this subject, like Tom Wolfe, Norman Mailer, and Oriana Fallaci. Dean's comments on Mailer are often laugh out loud funny! While keeping the tone humorous and light, Dean tries to answer some big questions about America's space program, such as why we decided to go to space in the first place, and what it means now that we have decided to end our manned spaceflight programs. (read more)

Your price $16.00
(New - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.