Poetry Madness
 
 

Daily Dose

2014 Archives

2013 Archives

2012 Archives

2011 Archives

2010 Archives

2009 Archives

2008 Archives

2007 Archives

2006 Archives

2005 Archives

2004 Archives

2003 Archives

2002 Archives

2001 Archives

spacer
Daily Dose
 
Comment and Win!
Comment on a product and you could win. The reader whose pick we use has until day's end to claim the gift certificate. Otherwise, we add an extra $20 credit to the next day's prize!
Dose me!
Enter your email address below and receive a new Daily Dose in your inbox each morning.


Click here to read about Powells.com's privacy policy.
Sunday, April 20th
Today's Dose by Karen from Locust Grove, Virginia
Karen, click here to claim your prize.


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

What a joy to read! What begins as a story about a new book rep's visit to a small independent bookstore on Alice Island turns into something so much more. In short order, I became engrossed in the life of cantankerous 39 year old widower and bookstore owner A.J. Fikry when an unexpected delivery changes his life. He grows into a passionate father, partner, and friend. A lover and promoter of great literature, A.J. reflects the best in a bookseller. He touches so many with his love of books....The story was fresh, engrossing and wonderfully written. (read more)

Your price $17.47
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies


Previous Doses
April 19th
Selected by Laura from Carbondale, Illinois


The Seeker The Seeker
by R. B. Chesterton

I love the premise of 'The Seeker:' a graduate student (Aine Cahill) looks to turn history on its ear by exposing the 'truth' about Thoreau's ostensibly solitary time spent on Walden Pond....Chesteron (Carolyn Haines) takes southern gothic literary tradition back to its Yankee roots, painting Walden Pond as not just a pastoral, inspiring place, but as a dark keeper of secrets both criminal and supernatural....Believe Cahill, or don't -- but trust Chesterton to take you on a surreal, darkly satisfying journey to the very boundaries of imagination. (read more)

Your price $25.95
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies
April 17th
Selected by Toni from Eugene, Oregon


Further Adventures in Monochrome Further Adventures in Monochrome
by John Yau

Yau's poems are pleasing to all the senses. Language play of the highest order. I love a poet who teaches me something -- John Yau's encyclopedic and very personal knowledge of modern art and literature is woven through these poems. (read more)

Your price $8.93
(Used - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
April 15th
Selected by Leslie from Monroe, Louisiana


Kitchen Kitchen
by Banana Yoshimoto

'Kitchen' is quite an engaging little read. Oddly dated yet timeless, it offers an intense story and an open ending. I loved the characters and the simplicity of speech. (read more)

Your price $14.00
(New - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
April 18th
Selected by Toshio from Albany, California


Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge
by Peter Orner

Once again an impressive collection from Peter Orner. It's refreshing to read a collection of stories that don't necessarily always have to have a unifying theme or characters, although some of the stories in this collection do. What I enjoy most about the stories is how Orner will have a laser sharp focus on a particular moment in time...and then he'll distill that moment down to its core leaving the reader with a profound understanding of that character or with a question that resonates with our own lives. (read more)

Your price $25.00
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies
April 16th
Selected by Sara from Portland, Oregon


Ask Me Ask Me
by Kimberly Pauley

'Ask Me' hooked me from the very first page....Perfect for fans of Kimberly Derting's The Body Finder series, 'Ask Me' is a masterful new addition to the YA shelves. Pauley weaves together the thriller and paranormal genres, tossing in a dose of romance and the charm that is an earmark of all her books, creating a story that is wholly engaging and delightful to read. It's not an easy feat to combine a toe-curling romance with edge-of-your-seat thrills, but Pauley does so masterfully. (read more)

Your price $17.99
(New - Hardcover)

check for other copies
April 14th
Selected by Eloise from Eugene, Oregon


Under Wildwood: The Wildwood Chronicles, Book II Under Wildwood: The Wildwood Chronicles, Book II
by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis

For anyone who liked or loved the first book (especially those who wondered, like I, what happened to Curtis's family when he disappeared) this is a great follow up....'Under Wildwood'...tells the interwoven stories of friends and enemies, people and animals, woodians and outsiders alike. An innocent and yet compelling and tense adventure awaits you in this long sequel. (read more)

Your price $9.99
(New - Trade Paper)

check for other copies
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.