Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Daily Dose

It's time for MEGA DOSE!

 

Comment and Win!

Comment on a product and you could win. The reader whose pick we use has until day's end to claim the gift certificate. Otherwise, we add an extra $20 credit to the next day's prize!
Seven days a week, the Powells.com Daily Dose brings a reader's review to your inbox — along with a chance to win free books! Comment on a product and you could win a $20 credit (or more)!

Click here to learn more.


Dose Me!

Enter your email address below and receive a new Daily Dose in your inbox each morning.


Click here to read about Powells.com's privacy policy.
Wednesday, July 29
Today's Dose by Shasta from Shoreline, Washington
Congratulations, Shasta, for claiming your $20 gift certificate!

The God of Small Things The God of Small Things
by Arundhati Roy
Shasta's Comments
"The topic is an important and painful one, but the writing is what really took my breath away. The rhythm of this book is unlike anything I've ever read -- the author tells us what will happen, then circles ever closer filling in details like a spirograph. If you care about Indian culture or classism in its many forms, read this book. But if you care about writing, let this book seep into your pores." (read more)
Your price $7.50
Used - Trade Paper

Previous Doses

July 28
Selected by Kim from Boise, Idaho
Kim won a Powells.com gift certificate worth $20.
Station Eleven
Station Eleven
by Emily St. John Mandel

Kim's Comments:
"I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. It was a bit anxiety-inducing but I like how it made me think about all the things we take for granted... lights, warm water, A/C, cell phones, the internet, airplanes, etc. Which in a matter of days can disappear. But I really liked how the author went back and forth before the pandemic and after and wove all the character's stories together. Best book I have read this year." (read more)

Your price $15.95
New - Trade Paper
add to cart
add to wish list

July 26
Selected by Patrick from Portland, Oregon
Patrick won a Powells.com gift certificate worth $60.
Leaving Orbit: Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight
Leaving Orbit: Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight
by Margaret Lazarus Dean

Patrick's Comments:
"This is a wonderful read about Margaret Dean's visits to Cape Canaveral to witness the last three space shuttle launches. Along the way she meets many fascinating characters, provides a brief history of America's space program, and comments extensively about the previous writers on this subject, like Tom Wolfe, Norman Mailer, and Oriana Fallaci. Dean's comments on Mailer are often laugh out loud funny! While keeping the tone humorous and light, Dean tries to answer some big questions about America's space program, such as why we decided to go to space in the first place, and what it means now that we have decided to end our manned spaceflight programs." (read more)

Your price $16.00
New - Trade Paper
add to cart
add to wish list

July 24
Selected by Christina from Arvada, Colorado
The Baby Tree
The Baby Tree
by Sophie Blackall

Christina's Comments:
"I wish I'd found this book when I was pregnant with my 2nd child, but it's just right for my now 5 year-old. This book explains how babies are made without being overly technical. It also addresses some of the incomplete and confusing answers given to children asking 'where do babies come from?' The tips in the back for how to answer follow-up questions are nicely done as well." (read more)

Your price $17.99
New - Hardcover
add to cart
add to wish list

July 27
Selected by Sean from Hood River, Oregon
Sean won a Powells.com gift certificate worth $20.
After the People Lights Have Gone Off
After the People Lights Have Gone Off
by Stephen Graham Jones

Sean's Comments:
"Excellent set of stories, each uniquely written and told with a sharp, witty, and sometimes ruthless tongue. There are stories in this book that will frighten you, make you feel numb and thoughtful, and some that will never leave you, even after all the people lights have gone off. I loved most of them, and I love Jones' straightforward storytelling style." (read more)

Your price $15.95
New - Trade Paper
add to cart
add to wish list

July 25
Selected by Chris from Huntington Station, New York
The Guild of Saint Cooper
The Guild of Saint Cooper
by Shya Scanlon

Chris's Comments:
"This book reads like a mash-up of Philip K. Dick and Haruki Murakami. It is compelling and an absolute must read for fans of 'Twin Peaks' and David Lynch." (read more)

Your price $12.50
Used - Trade Paper
add to cart
add to wish list

July 23
Selected by Nan from Tucson, Arizona
Nan won a Powells.com gift certificate worth $20.
We the Animals
We the Animals
by Justin Torres

Nan's Comments:
"Justin Torres's writing is simply brilliant....A moving coming-of-age story about three brothers and their parents immediately absorbs you into that family, dysfunctional, intense, close, full of love, bewilderment, pain, belongingness and rejection, it reads in places almost like a long poem....I not only will read it again, I will read anything Justin Torres writes." (read more)

Your price $6.50
Used - Trade Paper
add to cart
add to wish list

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.