Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Kids' Q&A

D. J. MacHale

Describe your latest project.
Imagine what it would be like to discover you aren't the person you thought you were.

That's what happened to Bobby Pendragon. He was living the life of a normal fourteen-year-old guy, until his Uncle Press came by one night to say: "I need your help." From that moment on, nothing was the same. He and his uncle were swept off on a series of adventures that would take them through both time and space. Their mission? To protect the territories of Halla from a shapeshifting demon named Saint Dane, a cold-blooded villian who wants nothing less than the destruction of all humanity. The only force standing in Saint Dane's way is a mysterious group of people called... Travelers.

Bobby is surprised to discover that he is a Traveler. He has no choice but to band together with the others in their battle against Saint Dane, wherever and whenever it takes them. Trouble is, Bobby would much rather be home playing basketball. But that wasn't meant to be, because when he left home, his entire family vanished without a trace!

Each of the ten Pendragon books follows a unique adventure as Bobby and the Travelers shoot across the universe in pursuit of Saint Dane. They must match wits with this fiend while doing their best to unravel his wicked plans. But Bobby is also driven by the ultimate mystery: Why was he chosen to become a Traveler? And more important... What happened to his family?

The amazing truth unravels slowly for Bobby over the course of all the Pendragon books. Along the way, he encounters the kind of nail-biting, hairy adventures that he used to love to watch in the movies, but now must live out every day for real.

The first six books of the series are now in print. The seventh will be published on May 16th, with the others to follow.


  1. Pendragon, Book 6: The Rivers of Zadaa
    $6.95 Used Hardcover add to wishlist
    "The New York Times-bestselling Pendragon series charges on with this absorbing sixth book....This is an excellent fantasy for fans of 'Harry Potter' and Philip Pullman ? and will likely ensnare many other young readers, as well." Rico, Powells.com
  2. Pendragon, Book 5: Black Water
    $1.50 Used Trade Paper add to wishlist

  3. Pendragon, Book 4: The Reality Bug
    $3.95 Used Trade Paper add to wishlist

  4. Pendragon, Book 3: The Never War
    $1.50 Used Trade Paper add to wishlist

  5. Pendragon, Book 2: The Lost City of Faar
    $2.95 Used Trade Paper add to wishlist

  6. Pendragon, Book 1: The Merchant of Death
    $3.50 Used Trade Paper add to wishlist

What fictional character would you like to be your friend, and why?
Bugs Bunny. No question. That guy has it all going on, and he does it with attitude. And he cracks me up.

Introduce one other author you think people should read, and suggest a good place to start.
My favorite book of all time is The Call of the Wild by Jack London.

Describe your favorite teacher.
I had a screenwriting teacher in college, Pat Cooper, who was the first person who made me understand that writing wasn't just about grammar and sentence structure, it was about storytelling and imagination. From that point on, writing stopped being drudgery and became fun. I haven't stopped writing since.

How did the last good book you read end up in your hands?
A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway. I found it in my bookcase. I had no idea it was there. It was a surprise treasure, which tells you the importance of having a crowded bookcase.

What's your favorite breakfast cereal?
Cheerios. It's all my daughter eats and I've rediscovered the pleasure.

What do you do for relaxation?
I run and play the guitar. Not at the same time.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
An astronaut. Didn't everybody in the 60s?

Share an interesting experience you've had with one of your readers.
I sometimes use people I've known as minor characters in my books. I based one character on a guy I went to junior high with who became a policeman. Not long ago I spoke at my old junior high and one kid raised his hand to say that the guy I based that character on was his father. It was fun to realize I was talking to a young guy who was the same age as I was when I knew his father, and at the same school. But my character was a lieutenant. He pointed out that his father had made captain. Oops.

Tell us about your pets.
We have a spoiled golden retriever named Maggie, and a bossy kitten named Kaboodle. The cat loves the dog. The dog ignores the cat.

Name the best Simpsons episode of all time, and explain why it's the best.
The one where Bart didn't study for his American History test and prayed for a snow day and got one. But then it was torture for him because he had to study while everybody was out playing in the snow and the mayor declared it "the funnest day ever." Bart went to the basement to avoid temptation and fell asleep. He dreamed about the Continental Congress drafting the Constitution and in the middle of it, Thomas Jefferson looked out the window and declared: "Hey everybody, it's snowing!" and all the founding fathers went out to play in the snow. I think that was the best episode ever because it was the first episode I ever saw. The humor surprised me on so many levels that I was hooked for good. spacer

spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.