Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Book Sense Picks


spacer

Book Sense Picks
2000 September/October


There are 64 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Book Sense Picks - 2000 September/October
Page 1 of 4 next

Plainsong (Vintage Contemporaries)
Plainsong (Vintage Contemporaries)
by Kent Haruf
Staff Pick
Just before Plainsong really hit big, I interviewed Kent Haruf for a now-defunct magazine called Boswell; and after speaking to Mr. Haruf for an hour, caught a glimpse of the modest spirit behind this wise novel. The story is written with deep humility... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $2.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Ecology of a Cracker Childhood (99 Edition)
Ecology of a Cracker Childhood (99 Edition)
by Janisse Ray
Publisher Comments
Janisse Ray grew up in a junkyard along U.S. Highway 1, hidden from Florida-bound vacationers by the hedge at the edge of the road and by hulks of old cars and stacks of blown-out tires. Ecology of a Cracker Childhood tells how a childhood spent in rural... (read more)

List Price $14.95
Your price: $8.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Where Rivers Change Direction
Where Rivers Change Direction
by Mark Spragg
Publisher Comments
It is a voice that echoes off canyon walls, springs from the rush of rivers, thunders from the hooves of horses. It belongs to award-winner Mark Spragg, and it's as passionate and umcompromising as the wilderness in northwest Wyoming in which he... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind
Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind
by Ann Ross
Publisher Comments
Miss Julia, a recently bereaved and newly wealthy widow, is only slightly bemused when one Hazel Marie Puckett appears at her door with a youngster in tow and unceremoniously announces that the child is the bastard son of Miss Julia's late husband... (read more)

List Price $14.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Star Called Henry (Last Roundup #01)
A Star Called Henry (Last Roundup #01)
by Roddy Doyle
From Powells.com
Roddy Doyle writes like nobody?s business. Each of his titles, from The Commitments (Doyle?s debut) to The Woman Who Walked Into Doors, has earned both critical and popular acclaim. Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, his funny, pitch-perfect... (read more)

List Price $14.00
Your price: $3.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A High Wind in Jamaica
A High Wind in Jamaica
by Richard Hughes
Publisher Comments
US... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Always We Begin Again: The Benedictine Way of Living
Always We Begin Again: The Benedictine Way of Living
by John Mcquiston
Publisher Comments
When an attorney with a busy commercial practice went searching for a italy balanced life, he found the blueprint for it in the sixth-century text of St. Benedict's Rule. McQuiston interprets and restates the ancient system of spiritual living, enabling... (read more)

List Price $10.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Gun Seller
The Gun Seller
by Hugh Laurie
Staff Pick
The Gun Seller reminds me of a well-made gin and tonic — crisp, hip, and refreshing, with a droll twist of lime.... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Inextinguishable Symphony: The True Story of Love and Music in Nazi Germany
The Inextinguishable Symphony: The True Story of Love and Music in Nazi Germany
by Martin Goldsmith
Publisher Comments
Set amid the growing tyranny of Germany's Third Reich, here is the riveting and emotional tale of G?nther Goldschmidt and Rosemarie Gumpert, two courageous Jewish musicians who struggled to perform under unimaginable circumstances-and found themselves... (read more)

List Price $32.50
Your price: $5.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Search the Dark
Search the Dark
by Charles Todd
Publisher Comments
The introspective hero of wings of Fire and A Test of Wills (Edgar Award nominee) return in a provocative new mystery. Inspector Ian Rutledge, haunted by memories of World War I and the harrowing presence of Hamish, a dead soldier, is "a superb... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $5.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Lost Years of Merlin #03: The Fires of Merlin
Lost Years of Merlin #03: The Fires of Merlin
by T A Barron
Publisher Comments
The third novel in the Lost Years of Merlin saga. The dragon called Wings of Fire has awakened from his enchanted slumber. And only Merlin--the descendant of the wizard who first defeated the dragon--possesses the power to stop him.... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Bowling Alone: Civic Disengagement in America
Bowling Alone: Civic Disengagement in America
by Robert D Putnam
Publisher Comments
Once we bowled in leagues, usually after work; but no longer. This seemingly small phenomenon symbolizes a significant social change that Robert Putnam has identified and describes in this brilliant volume, Bowling Alone. Drawing on vast new data from... (read more)

List Price $26.50
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Olivia
Olivia
by Ian Falconer
Publisher Comments
Have fun with Olivia... dressing up singing songs building sand castles napping (maybe) dancing painting on walls and -- whew! -- going to sleep at last.... (read more)

List Price $17.99
Your price: $3.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Last Life
The Last Life
by Claire Messud
Publisher Comments
Narrated by a fifteen-year-old girl with a ruthless regard for truth, The Last Life is a beautifully told novel of lies and ghosts, love and honor. Set in colonial Algeria, and in the south of France and New England, it is the tale of the LaBasse family,... (read more)

List Price $14.95
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Madlenka
Madlenka
by Peter Sis
Publisher Comments
A trip around a city block is like a trip around the world! Peeking out through a die-cut window on the jacket, Madlenka invites the reader to enter her world. And what a world it is! On the surface, it looks like an ordinary city block, but as we meet... (read more)

List Price $17.99
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Kind of Blue: The Making of the Miles Davis Masterpiece
Kind of Blue: The Making of the Miles Davis Masterpiece
by Ashley Kahn
Publisher Comments
Jazz musicians call it The Bible. Critics call it the one jazz album every fan must own. Forty-one years since its recording in 1959, it has sold millions worldwide and sits near the top of any list of most important records of the century. How did two... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $16.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Hatbox Baby Signed 1st Edition
The Hatbox Baby Signed 1st Edition
by Carrie Brown
Publisher Comments
On a sweltering summer morning in 1933, a baby is delivered in a hatbox to the Century of Progress Exposition the World's Fair in Chicago. This very tiny baby, born three months early, is brought by his desperate young father to the fair's famous baby... (read more)

List Price $22.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Kin
Kin
by Crystal Williams
Publisher Comments
In her first book-length collection of poetry, Crystal Williams utilizes memory and music as she lyrically weaves her way through American culture, pointing to the ways in which alienation, loss, and sensed "otherness" are corollaries of... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


When We Were Orphans
When We Were Orphans
by Kazuo Ishiguro
Synopsis
During the Sino-Japanese War, a young man returns to Shanghai to solve the mystery of his parents' disappearance some 20 years earlier. A feat of narrative skill and soaring imagination, "When We Were Orphans" is Ishiguro at his brilliant best.... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $4.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Story of a Million Years
The Story of a Million Years
by David Huddle
Publisher Comments
In the tradition of Updike and Cheever, Huddle skillfully captures the way "secrets cobweb within relationships, engendering a sharp-edged loneliness between people who think they know each other" ("Orlando Sentinel"). A "Los Angeles Times" Best Book of... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


1 3 4 next»


There are 64 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Book Sense Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.