The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Book Sense Picks


spacer

Book Sense Picks
2004 August


There are 30 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Book Sense Picks - 2004 August
Page 2 of 2

Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer: A Journey into the Heart of Fan Mania
Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer: A Journey into the Heart of Fan Mania
by Warren St. John
Staff Pick
In the tradition of Tony Horwitz and Bill Bryson, Warren St. John immerses readers in the wildly eccentric world of hardcore American sports fans. Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer is a hilarious, breezy read for anyone who's ever shouted at the TV or sulked... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Strange but True
Strange but True
by John Searles
Publisher Comments
After a mysterious fall from his New York City apartment, Philip Chase has moved back home with his mother, Charlene, a bitter woman who has never fully accepted the death of her younger son, Ronnie, five years earlier. Numb from watching too much... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Almost French
Almost French
by Sarah Turnbull
Publisher Comments
In this lushly written follow-up to Almost French, Sarah Turnbull explores a new paradise: Tahiti. Having shared her story in her bestselling memoir, Almost French, Australian writer Sarah Turnbull seemed to have had more than her fair share of dreams... (read more)

List Price $17.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Food of Love
Food of Love
by Anthony Capella
Publisher Comments
The success of Like Water for Chocolate and Chocolat (not to mention their film adaptations), and films such as Big Night and Babette’s Feast confirms that fine food and romance are a winning combination. The Food of Love, Anthony Capella’s delicious... (read more)

List Price $21.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Tales of the Otori #03: Brilliance of the Moon
Tales of the Otori #03: Brilliance of the Moon
by Lian Hearn
Publisher Comments
A beautiful, haunting evocation of the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, this thrilling follow-up to Grass for His Pillow and Across the Nightingale Floor delves deeper into the complex loyalties that bind its characters from birth. Filled... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Candy and Me: A Girl's Tale of Life, Love, and Sugar
Candy and Me: A Girl's Tale of Life, Love, and Sugar
by Hilary Liftin
Publisher Comments
"Candy and Me" is a delectable memoir for adult girls who thought Candyland was where they'd grow up and live and who wanted every day to be Easter and Halloween. It is for sugar addicts who don't hide their habit and for people with a sweet tooth and a... (read more)

Your price: $16.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Little Scarlet: An Easy Rawlins Mystery
Little Scarlet: An Easy Rawlins Mystery
by Walter Mosley
Publisher Comments
Easy Rawlins returns to solve a mystery set amid the flames of the hottest summer L.A. has ever seen. Just after devastating riots tear through Los Angeles in 1965 — when anger is high and fear still smolders everywhere — the police turn up... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $5.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Amagansett
Amagansett
by Mark Mills
Publisher Comments
In the small town of Amagansett, perched on Long Island's windswept coast, generations have followed the same calling as their forefathers, fishing the dangerous Atlantic waters. Little has changed in the three centuries since white settlers drove the... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Callgirl
Callgirl
by Jeannette Angell
Publisher Comments
When Jeanette Angell was 34, a live-in boyfriend vanished, wiping out her savings account and leaving her in precarious financial straits. Reading an advertisement seeking women to work as escorts, she thought this might offer a way out of penury... (read more)

Your price: $26.00
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Son Called Gabriel
A Son Called Gabriel
by Damian Mcnicholl
List Price $21.95
Your price: $12.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


«prev 1 2


There are 30 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Book Sense Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.