Murakami Sale
 
 

Book Sense Picks


spacer

Book Sense Picks
2007 July


There are 16 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Book Sense Picks - 2007 July
Page 1 of 1

Be Near Me
Be Near Me
by Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher Comments
Father Davids presence ignites the suspicions and smoldering hatred of a town that resents strangers, which brings him to a reckoning with the tensions of his past. In this masterfully written novel, O'Hagan explores the emotional and moral... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $1.00
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


Stalin's Ghost: An Arkady Renko Novel
Stalin's Ghost: An Arkady Renko Novel
by Martin Cruz Smith
Staff Pick
Arkady Renko, intrepid Moscow investigator, was first introduced to readers in the incomparable Gorky Park. This latest adventure perfectly captures Putin's Russia, ultra-modern and ultra-corrupt, yet haunted by the sorrows and ghosts of its Stalinist... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $2.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


No One Belongs Here More Than You: Stories
No One Belongs Here More Than You: Stories
by Miranda July
Staff Pick
Is there a creative project Miranda July can't conquer? If you've jealously posed this question before reading her fiction, stay away from the new collection. No One Belongs Here More Than You will only embitter you further. It's not enough for July to... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $10.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Michael Tolliver Lives: A Novel
Michael Tolliver Lives: A Novel
by Armistead Maupin
Publisher Comments
Michael Tolliver, the sweet-spirited Southerner in Armistead Maupin's classic Tales of the City series, is arguably one of the most widely loved characters in contemporary fiction. Now, almost twenty years after ending his ground-breaking saga of San... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


F-5: Devastating, Survival, and the Most Violent Tornado Outbreak of the Twentieth Century
F-5: Devastating, Survival, and the Most Violent Tornado Outbreak of the Twentieth Century
by Mark Levine
Publisher Comments
It was April 3, 1974. Crime was soaring. Unemployment and inflation were out of control. A costly war had just come to its demoralizing end, and an unpopular President was on his way out of office. Then, over a sixteen-hour period, nature stepped forward... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $4.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
by Michael Tucker
Publisher Comments
From actor Michael Tucker comes this celebration of a good marriage and a careful study of the nature of home, written with an epicureans delight in detail and a gourmands appreciation for all things fine.... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Stray
Stray
by Rachel Vincent
Publisher Comments
There are only eight breeding female werecats left... And I'm one of them. I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds. Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Now Is the Hour
Now Is the Hour
by Tom Spanbauer
Publisher Comments
Rigby John Klusener is hitchhiking to San Francisco. The year is 1967, the town is Pocatello, Idaho. Fresh out of high school, Rigby John is leaving behind his bohemian ex-girlfriend, his prayerful mother, his distant father, and the hay dust of his... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $14.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Origin: A Novel
Origin: A Novel
by Diana Abu-Jaber
Publisher Comments
Lena is a fingerprint expert at a crime lab in the small city of Syracuse, New York, where winters are cold and deep. Suddenly, a series of crib deaths--indistinguishable from SIDS except for the fevered testimony of one distraught mother with... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Magician: A Novel
Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Magician: A Novel
by Daniel Wallace
Publisher Comments
It’s 1950 and magician Henry Walker is traveling through the South with Jeremiah Musgrove’s Chinese Circus.Though once a world-famous illusionist, Henry seems to have lost his magic, and when the novel opens he’s in some serious trouble... (read more)

List Price $21.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Maytrees
The Maytrees
by Annie Dillard
Staff Pick
This stunningly crafted novel of love and loss will not disappoint fans of Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. Erudite observations of nature show off Dillard's skill as a poetic and lyrical writer, while the astute observations of love and life resonate.... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $1.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Volk's Game
Volk's Game
by Brent Ghelfi
Publisher Comments
Alexei Volkovoy--known to the underworld as Volk--is a hardened veteran of the conflict in Chechnya, a gun-for-hire now living in a lawless Russia, serving two corrupt masters: one is Maxim, a psychotic Azeri mafia kingpin, the other a mystery man known... (read more)

Your price: $28.63
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Much Married Man
A Much Married Man
by Nicholas Coleridge
Publisher Comments
From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs.  Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $4.48
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Peony in Love
Peony in Love
by Lisa See
Staff Pick
Lisa See aptly follows her blockbuster novel, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, with a lovely book that immerses the reader deep into 17th-century Chinese culture. Part love story, part ghost story, part historical fiction; See hangs the bones of her story... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $1.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
by Stef Penney
Publisher Comments
In this brutal, epic debut novel, a man is found murdered and a 17-year-old boy is on the run. While vigilantes and rescue searchers head out to look for the fugitive, all the mother of the boy wants is her son back. She will do anything to see him home... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $7.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Best of Friends: Two Women, Two Continents, and One Enduring Friendship
The Best of Friends: Two Women, Two Continents, and One Enduring Friendship
by Sara James
Publisher Comments
From sharing secrets as children to chasing unconventional dreams as adults, network correspondent Sara James and wildlife filmmaker Ginger Mauney explore their learning curve on life through the lens of their thirty-year friendship Transplanting... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


There are 16 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Book Sense Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.