We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Book Sense Picks
2007 July


There are 15 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Book Sense Picks - 2007 July
Page 1 of 1

No One Belongs Here More Than You: Stories
No One Belongs Here More Than You: Stories
by Miranda July
Staff Pick
Is there a creative project Miranda July can't conquer? If you've jealously posed this question before reading her fiction, stay away from the new collection. No One Belongs Here More Than You will only embitter you further. It's not enough for July to... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $11.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Stalin's Ghost: An Arkady Renko Novel
Stalin's Ghost: An Arkady Renko Novel
by Martin Cruz Smith
Staff Pick
Arkady Renko, intrepid Moscow investigator, was first introduced to readers in the incomparable Gorky Park. This latest adventure perfectly captures Putin's Russia, ultra-modern and ultra-corrupt, yet haunted by the sorrows and ghosts of its Stalinist... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Maytrees
The Maytrees
by Annie Dillard
Staff Pick
This stunningly crafted novel of love and loss will not disappoint fans of Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. Erudite observations of nature show off Dillard's skill as a poetic and lyrical writer, while the astute observations of love and life resonate.... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $7.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Michael Tolliver Lives: A Novel
Michael Tolliver Lives: A Novel
by Armistead Maupin
Review
“Maupins writing is as cheerfully raunchy as ever . . . ” Miami... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Volk's Game
Volk's Game
by Brent Ghelfi
Publisher Comments
Alexei Volkovoy--known to the underworld as Volk--is a hardened veteran of the conflict in Chechnya, a gun-for-hire now living in a lawless Russia, serving two corrupt masters: one is Maxim, a psychotic Azeri mafia kingpin, the other a mystery man known... (read more)

Your price: $28.63
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy
by Michael Tucker
Book News Annotation
This memoir recounts the first years in which veteran actor Michael Tucker (of TV's L.A. Law) and his wife, both in their 60s, shed the vestiges of their California lifestyle and moved to a small town in Italy's Spoleto Valley. Their goals were to... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Nail Through the Heart
A Nail Through the Heart
by Timothy Hallinan
Review
“Definitely worth a visit. Will keep you on the edge of your seat and clamoring for Hallinans next book.” Montgomery... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Much Married Man
A Much Married Man
by Nicholas Coleridge
Publisher Comments
From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs.  Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $4.48
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Origin: A Novel
Origin: A Novel
by Diana Abu-Jaber
Publisher Comments
Lena is a fingerprint expert at a crime lab in the small city of Syracuse, New York, where winters are cold and deep. Suddenly, a series of crib deaths--indistinguishable from SIDS except for the fevered testimony of one distraught mother with... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Peony in Love
Peony in Love
by Lisa See
Staff Pick
Lisa See aptly follows her blockbuster novel, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, with a lovely book that immerses the reader deep into 17th-century Chinese culture. Part love story, part ghost story, part historical fiction; See hangs the bones of her story... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Be Near Me
Be Near Me
by Andrew O'Hagan
Review
PRAISE FOR BE NEAR ME "[A] beautiful, astute novel.... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $1.00
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


F-5: Devastating, Survival, and the Most Violent Tornado Outbreak of the Twentieth Century
F-5: Devastating, Survival, and the Most Violent Tornado Outbreak of the Twentieth Century
by Mark Levine
List Price $25.95
Your price: $4.75
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
by Stef Penney
List Price $25.00
Your price: $7.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Stray
Stray
by Rachel Vincent
List Price $6.99
Your price: $3.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Now Is the Hour
Now Is the Hour
by Tom Spanbauer
List Price $25.95
Your price: $10.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


There are 15 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Book Sense Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.