Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Get Children's...

News, bestseller lists, special Powell's offers, and more in your inbox.

More info about our Subject Newsletters

Children's
Dystopian Delights


Maybe it has something to do with entering middle school or the onset of teenage angst, but the future doesn't always look so bright and rosy for young readers. Which is probably why novels set in dark, foreboding future worlds — like Suzanne Collins's riveting Hunger Games series — are so popular. Check out our selection of dystopian delights for kids!

There are 24 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Children's - Dystopian Delights
Page 1 of 2 next

The Giver
The Giver
by Lois Lowry
Review
"A powerful and provacative novel.” -- The New York... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Unwind
Unwind
by Neal Shusterman
Publisher Comments
Perfect for fans of the dystopian settings of The Hunger Games and Divergent, the gripping second installment of the Slated trilogy is a riveting psychological thriller set in a future where violent teens have their memory erased as an alternative to... (read more)

List Price $11.99
Your price: $4.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Life as We Knew It
Life as We Knew It
by Susan Beth Pfeffer
Publisher Comments
Katie is on the verge of her Rumspringa, the time in Amish life when teenagers can get a taste of the real world. But the real world comes to her in this dystopian tale with a philosophical bent. Rumors of massive unrest on the “Outside”... (read more)

List Price $8.99
Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Uglies
Uglies
by Scott Westerfeld
About the Author
Scott Westerfeld most recent novels are Leviathan and Behemoth, the first two books in a new trilogy. His other novels include the Uglies series, the Midnighters trilogy, The Last Days, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults and the sequel to Peeps.... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking Trilogy #01
The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking Trilogy #01
by Patrick Ness
Publisher Comments
A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner Night is coming. On Marins island, sunrise doesnt come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years. Each... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $6.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy #01)
The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy #01)
by James Dashner
Publisher Comments
Fifteen-year-old Will Drake has made a career of breaking out from high-security prisons. His talents have landed him at the Rig, a special juvenile holding facility in the middle of the Arctic Ocean. No one can escape from the Rig. After hatching some... (read more)

List Price $16.99
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The City of Ember
The City of Ember
by Jeanne DuPrau
Publisher Comments
They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didnt exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $2.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Among the Hidden:  The Shadow Children Book One (Shadow Children #01)
Among the Hidden: The Shadow Children Book One (Shadow Children #01)
by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Publisher Comments
Medford lives on a neat, orderly island calledsimplyIsland.      Islanders like names that say exactly what a thing (or a person) is or does. Nothing less.      Islanders like things (and people) to do what their... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $3.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Feed
Feed
by M. T. Anderson
Staff Pick
If you had your iPod touch, email, bank account, and family business all organized and recorded in an implant at the base of your neck, what would your world look like? Would you even bother talking? Would you care? Take a peek at our future and ask the... (read more)

List Price $8.99
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


How I Live Now
How I Live Now
by Meg Rosoff
Staff Pick
A gritty, funny, and widely influential novel (it caused quite a stir!) that I guarantee you'll read time and time again. Powerful and worthy of many re-readings.... (read more)

List Price $8.99
Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Little Brother
Little Brother
by Cory Doctorow
Publisher Comments
A chance at the ultimate makeover means deadly consequences in this Sarah Dessen-meets-Robin Cook thriller Aislyn suffers from crippling shyness—that is, until shes offered a dose of Charisma, an underground gene therapy drug guaranteed to make her... (read more)

List Price $19.99
Your price: $5.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Last Book in the Universe (00 Edition)
Last Book in the Universe (00 Edition)
by Rodman Philbrick
About the Author
Rodman Philbrick is the author of six award-winning novels for young readers. His first novel, Freak the Mighty, won the California Young Reader Medal. It was received with great acclaim and has sold more than a million copies. The sequel, Max the Mighty,... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $5.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games #01)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games #01)
by Suzanne Collins
Staff Pick
Destined for widespread popularity and quite possibly a little controversy, this post-apocalyptic tale about teenagers who fight to the death to help feed their families is so riveting and heartbreaking, I ceased all essential functions until I finished... (read more)

List Price $18.99
Your price: $6.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Shade's Children
Shade's Children
by Garth Nix
Review
“This pitch-dark, post-apocalyptic thriller will keep you reading and wild-eyed. Fast, brutal and brilliant.” Scott Westerfeld, author of... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Gathering Blue
Gathering Blue
by Lois Lowry
Publisher Comments
Lois Lowry won her first Newbery Medal in 1994 for The Giver. Six years later, she ushered readers back into its mysterious but plausible future world in Gathering Blue to tell the story of Kira, orphaned, physically flawed, and left with an... (read more)

List Price $7.50
Your price: $4.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


The House of the Scorpion
The House of the Scorpion
by Nancy Farmer
Publisher Comments
This modern classic takes on an iron-fisted drug lord, clones bred for their organs, and what it means to be human. Winner of the National Book Award as well as Newbery and Printz Honors. Matteo Alacrán was not born; he was harvested. His DNA... (read more)

List Price $10.99
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Tomorrow, When the War Began: Tomorrow #01
Tomorrow, When the War Began: Tomorrow #01
by John Marsden
Staff Pick
Are you waiting impatiently for the final volume of Suzanne Collins's Hunger Games? Looking for something to tide you over in the meanwhile? Look no further! John Marsden's Tomorrow series has what you need: near-death adventure, a dangerous and... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Tripods (Book 1): The White Mountains
The Tripods (Book 1): The White Mountains
by John Christopher
About the Author
John Christopher was the pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include andlt;iandgt;The Death of... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $4.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Bloodsong
Bloodsong
by Melvin Burgess
Publisher Comments
PART II Fifteen-year-old Sigurd, son of King Sigmund, is the last surviving member of the Volson clan. His father's kingdom -- the former city of London -- is gone. And his father's knife, a gift from Odin himself, has been shattered to dust. Now, Odin's... (read more)

Your price: $16.99
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)
by Suzanne Collins
Staff Pick
Never have I been more excited for a sequel to be released than after I read Hunger Games, and thankfully, Suzanne Collins delivered. I burned through Catching Fire like it was on fire, hurtling through the revelations and heart-stopping twist. I am... (read more)

List Price $18.99
Your price: $7.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 2 next»


There are 24 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Children's
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.