No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Employee Picks
Mystery


There are 219 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Employee Picks - Mystery
Page 6 of 11 next

Talking about Detective Fiction
Talking about Detective Fiction
by P. D. James
Staff Pick
Drawing on over 40 years experience writing and reading detective fiction, P. D. James examines its origins, techniques, tropes, and evolution throughout the 20th century. Her insights and analysis will be fascinating to readers and writers of the genre.... (read more)

List Price $22.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Her Royal Spyness
Her Royal Spyness
by Rhys Bowen
Staff Pick
Rhys Bowen's excellent new mystery series starts here with Her Royal Spyness. Lady Georgie has left dreary Scotland and her horrid sister-in-law. Broke and living in her family's cavernous townhouse in London, Georgie quickly finds herself embroiled in... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


I Was Looking for a Street
I Was Looking for a Street
by Charles Willeford
Staff Pick
The great memoir from masterful crime writer Charles Willeford is finally back in print! Get pulled along by Willeford's razor sharp wit and keen observation of his hard-luck childhood and teenage years during the Great Depression. Funny, dirty, and real.... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $7.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


With Red Hands
With Red Hands
by Stephen Woodworth
Staff Pick
Stephen Woodworth's "bad guys" are some of nastiest characters I've ever encountered in print (very creepy!). In this the second installment in the series, Natalie (a Violet) has broken from the government and it's rigid control and has gone freelance... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $1.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


One Shot: A Jack Reacher Novel (Jack Reacher Novels)
One Shot: A Jack Reacher Novel (Jack Reacher Novels)
by Lee Child
Staff Pick
Everybody remembers their first roller coaster ride. The train turns a corner, there are no tracks ahead, and the contents of your stomach are making their way towards your mouth. Miraculously, tracks appear, your stomach settles, and the ride is over... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $9.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Postmortem: A Scarpetta Novel
Postmortem: A Scarpetta Novel
by Patricia Cornwell
Staff Pick
Before Grissom and CSI, there was Scarpetta. Cornwell's first novel featuring medical examiner Kay Scarpetta remains one of her best — a tense, gripping tale.... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $4.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Aunt Dimity: Detective
Aunt Dimity: Detective
by Nancy Atherton
Staff Pick
I love the Aunt Dimity mystery series, in which Lori Shepherd is able to communicate with her late aunt through a special diary she inherited with the rest of the estate. Aunt Dimity: Detective brings, for the first time in the series, a murder mystery... (read more)

List Price $8.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


A Cup of Light
A Cup of Light
by Nicole Mones
Staff Pick
When Lia Frank travels to China to evaluate a cache of rare antique porcelain she enters an exotic world full of danger, mystery, and romance. I was so entranced by the story I actually went to see a real "chicken cup" at the Metropolitan Museum in New... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


American Tabloid
American Tabloid
by James Ellroy
Staff Pick
J. Edgar Hoover, the Ku Klux Klan, Howard Hughes, Jimmy Hoffa and dozens of I-talian "businessmen" do battle with "Martin Lucifer Coon," Jack and Bobby Kennedy, and other "Communists" in James Ellroy's latest tomes. Ellroy's tommy-gun prose and morally... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $7.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Godfather
The Godfather
by Mario Puzo
Staff Pick
This is where many of us got our first exposure to Mob dynamics: sausage-making, sex standing up, crooked cops, beheaded horses, spousal abuse, family loyalty. Thugs all, but you gotta love 'em.... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


Joyland
Joyland
by Stephen King
Publisher Comments
A STUNNING NEW NOVEL FROM ONE OF THE BEST-SELLING AUTHORS OF ALL TIME! Set in a small-town North Carolina amusement park in 1973, Joyland tells the story of the summer in which college student Devin Jones comes to work as a carny and confronts the legacy... (read more)

List Price $12.95
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Faithful Spy
The Faithful Spy
by Alex Berenson
Staff Pick
I just got through reading The Faithful Spy by Alex Berenson. I started reading it on my lunch, forced myself to work for a few hours, and then hustled home to continue. Kids ate leftovers; dishes went undone; pleasant dinner conversation was cut short... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $2.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


My Dark Places: An L.A. Crime Memoir
My Dark Places: An L.A. Crime Memoir
by James Ellroy
Staff Pick
James Ellroy is the heir apparent to Raymond Chandler. His dark, convoluted, steroid-infused crime novels have made him the reigning king of LA Noir. Ellroy's stylized prose is "so hard-boiled it burns the pot" and his outlook is as cynical as a frog in... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Turnaround
The Turnaround
by George Pelecanos
Staff Pick
Great crime fiction challenges us; not just our armchair detective skills, but our notions of justice, our assumptions of societal norms. The Turnaround is great crime fiction. Suspenseful, yes, almost painfully so, but not in a heart-stopping... (read more)

List Price $14.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Sleepless
Sleepless
by Charlie Huston
Staff Pick
Set in an alternate America that is unraveling under the strain of a deadly plague, this masterful novel portrays the lives of two very different men on a collision course of destruction. Huston is a one of the finest writers that you've never heard of... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries)
The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries)
by Lindsey Davis
Staff Pick
Fans of Steven Saylor and P. C. Doherty will be delighted with Lindsey Davis's clever mystery series featuring cheeky Roman sleuth Marcus Didius Falco and sharp-tongued senator's daughter Helena Justina.... (read more)

List Price $17.99
Your price: $6.50
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme Novels)
The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme Novels)
by Jeffery Deaver
Staff Pick
Jeffery Deaver's latest Lincoln Rhyme novel is a very scary book. Not because the villain is a monster or supernatural or anything close to an alien. What makes the latest Lincoln Rhyme novel keep me up at night contemplating my safety is the tool the... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $5.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden
by Helen Grant
Staff Pick
Ten-year-old Pia Kolvenbach is smart, resourceful, brave, and wise beyond her years. When young girls start disappearing in her tiny German town, Pia is desperate to know the cause. She discovers that the vanishings echo others from the distant past... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Flinch
Flinch
by Robert Ferrigno
Staff Pick
Have you discovered author Robert Ferrigno yet? Even though he lives in the Pacific Northwest, his novels are set in a perfectly realized Southern California. It's as if the noirish city of Philip Marlowe was suddenly peopled by characters from Carl... (read more)

List Price $12.75
Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Penny Dreadful: A Novel
Penny Dreadful: A Novel
by Will Christopher Baer
Staff Pick
If Chuck Palahniuk rewrote Jim Thompson, it might read something like the novels of Will Christopher Baer. These modern-day noir stories are electric tales of love gone awry, full of characters who put the "fun" back in dysfunction. Roll up your sleeves,... (read more)

List Price $12.50
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


«prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next»


There are 219 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Employee Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.