Murakami Sale
 
 

Employee Picks


spacer

Employee Picks
Science Reference


There are 56 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Employee Picks - Science Reference
Page 3 of 3

Geek Dad: Awesomely Geeky Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids to Share
Geek Dad: Awesomely Geeky Projects and Activities for Dads and Kids to Share
by Ken Denmead
Staff Pick
This book is awesome! You don't even need a kid to enjoy the imaginative and techie activities in Geek Dad. Sure, kids will love it, but don't let that stop you from picking up a copy for yourself.... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Long for This World: The Strange Science of Immortality
Long for This World: The Strange Science of Immortality
by Jonathan Weiner
Staff Pick
The new work from acclaimed science writer Jonathan Weiner is a remarkable book about a remarkable idea: immortality. As globe-trotting as a Dan Brown novel, Long for This World introduces an international cast of scientists, researchers, and dreamers... (read more)

List Price $27.99
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Canon: A Whirligig Tour of the Beautiful Basics of Science
The Canon: A Whirligig Tour of the Beautiful Basics of Science
by Natalie Angier
Staff Pick
Another winner from one of the best science writers around, The Canon, like Bill Bryson's Short History of Nearly Everything, provides a pleasurable understanding of science.... (read more)

List Price $27.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers: Western Edition
National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers: Western Edition
by National Audubon Society
Staff Pick
Since its founding in 1905, the National Audubon Society has actively promoted wildlife protection and environmental education. Keeping in sync with the work of its namesake and inspiration, famed wildlife artist John James Audubon (1785-1851), this not... (read more)

List Price $19.00
Your price: $3.95
Used - Flexible

add to wish list


Sell Yourself to Science: The Complete Guide to Selling Your Organs, Body Fluids, Bodily Functions and Being a Human Guinea Pig
Sell Yourself to Science: The Complete Guide to Selling Your Organs, Body Fluids, Bodily Functions and Being a Human Guinea Pig
by Jim. Hogshire
Staff Pick
When I was in college, I donated plasma a dozen times to the Alpha Plasma Center in downtown Portland. I have a tiny white scar in the pit of my right forearm to prove it. Why did I waste my afternoons lounging on a vinyl recliner with a giant needle up... (read more)

Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The web of life :a new scientific understanding of living systems
The web of life :a new scientific understanding of living systems
by Fritjof Capra
Staff Pick
The Web of Life is a very succinct explanation for the interstices between chaotic math systems and Gaia theory. This book explains the concepts of autopoetic networks and the theories of AI without becoming mired in the incredibly dense math associated... (read more)

Your price: $5.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Geek Dad's Guide to Weekend Fun: Cool Hacks, Cutting-Edge Games, and More Awesome Projects for the Whole Family
The Geek Dad's Guide to Weekend Fun: Cool Hacks, Cutting-Edge Games, and More Awesome Projects for the Whole Family
by Ken Denmead
Staff Pick
The Geek Dad's Guide to Weekend Fun practically makes fun happen just by existing — and not just on weekends and not just for dads. This book contains unlimited inspiration for any level of handy parent to while away innumerable hours doing nerdy... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $11.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Where the Wild Things Were (08 - Old Edition)
Where the Wild Things Were (08 - Old Edition)
by Stolzenburg
Staff Pick
What would our world look like without without wolves, giant cats, and other preying animals? William Stolzenburg examines the absence of once-prominent predators and how that affects our global ecosystem. There are a lot of alarmist books coming out now... (read more)

List Price $24.99
Your price: $13.00
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Sense of the Mysterious: Science and the Human Spirit
A Sense of the Mysterious: Science and the Human Spirit
by Alan P Lightman
Staff Pick
Written by accomplished physicist and artist Alan Lightman, A Sense of the Mysterious explores the imagination and emotional life of science. Original, thoughtful, and beautifully written.... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Defining the Wind: The Beaufort Scale, and How a 19th-Century Admiral Turned Science Into Poetry
Defining the Wind: The Beaufort Scale, and How a 19th-Century Admiral Turned Science Into Poetry
by Scott Huler
Staff Pick
List Price $22.00
Your price: $5.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


An Ocean of Air: Why the Wind Blows and Other Mysteries of the Atmosphere
An Ocean of Air: Why the Wind Blows and Other Mysteries of the Atmosphere
by Gabrielle Walker
Staff Pick
Fans of Dava Sobel and Simon Winchester: this book is for you. A fascinating brief history of the scientists and mathematicians who discovered the atmosphere that makes our planet habitable, Walker's intricate and engaging book quickly captures the... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $7.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Proust Was a Neuroscientist
Proust Was a Neuroscientist
by Jonah Lehrer
Staff Pick
The young Lehrer's keen portraits make for a winning read. Using Woolf, Stravinsky, Cézanne, Whitman, and a handful of others, he shows how art has given us as much insight into the human mind as science has.... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time
Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time
by Dava Sobel
Staff Pick
"An account of the man who developed the technology which allowed sailors to determine their longitude at sea. If you don't know where you are, it's hard to know where you're going, whether you've gotten there or if you've missed your target. If, while... (read more)

List Price $13.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology
The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology
by Ray Kurzweil
Staff Pick
The future of humanity in Kurzweil's eyes is a startling vision of humans moving beyond our biological bodies to join with computers — the human machine. Controversial and insightful, Singularity illuminates the technologies that are pushing the... (read more)

List Price $22.00
Your price: $10.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier
Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier
by Neil deGrasse Tyson
Staff Pick
The great Neil deGrasse Tyson, astrophysicist, director of the Hayden Planetarium, PBS/Nova host, and ambassador to all sorts of interstellar and cosmic awesomeness, is also the author of nearly a dozen books. His newest, Space Chronicles: Facing the... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $8.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Poisons: From Hemlock to Botox and the Killer Bean of Calabar
Poisons: From Hemlock to Botox and the Killer Bean of Calabar
by Peter Macinnis
Staff Pick
Next time someone makes you mad, just pull out this book and start reading it. Then carefully arch your eyebrows over the cover and whisper "revenge is a dish best served cold." Or you could, you know, read it for the educational value. It's your call.... (read more)

List Price $12.95
Your price: $6.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


«prev 1 3


There are 56 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Employee Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.