Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Judaism
Thought and Culture


There are 721 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Judaism - Thought and Culture
Page 1 of 37 next

Man's Search for Meaning
Man's Search for Meaning
by Viktor E Frankl
Publisher Comments
When Beacon Press first published Man's Search for Meaning in 1959, Carl Rogers called it "one of the outstanding contributions to psychological thought in the last fifty years." In the thirty-three years since then, this book — at once a memoir, a... (read more)

List Price $6.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Mass Market

add to wish list


The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance
The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance
by Edmund de Waal
Publisher Comments
An Economist Book of the Year        Costa Book Award Winner for Biography     Galaxy National Book Award Winner (New Writer of the Year Award) Edmund de Waal is a world-famous ceramicist. Having spent thirty... (read more)

List Price $17.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Girl from Human Street: Ghosts of Memory in a Jewish Family
The Girl from Human Street: Ghosts of Memory in a Jewish Family
by Roger Cohen
Publisher Comments
An expansive yet intimate memoir of modern Jewish identity, following the diaspora of the author's own family to assay the impact of memory, displacement, and disquiet. The award-winning New York Times columnist and former foreign correspondent... (read more)

List Price $27.95
Your price: $18.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Jewish Literacy: The Most Important Things to Know about the Jewish Religion, Its People, and Its History
Jewish Literacy: The Most Important Things to Know about the Jewish Religion, Its People, and Its History
by Joseph Telushkin
Publisher Comments
How much do you know about Judaism?How did the Ten Lost Tribes become lost ? Are circumcisions performed on the Sabbath ? Which country first granted Jews equal rights ?When was polygamy outlawed for Jews ? Why does Jewish law compare gossiping to murder... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood
Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood
by Leah Vincent
Publisher Comments
An electrifying memoir about a young womans self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one womans struggle to define... (read more)

Your price: $16.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance
The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance
by Edmund De Waal
Publisher Comments
An Economist Book of the Year Costa Book Award Winner for Biography Galaxy National Book Award Winner (New Writer of the Year Award) Edmund de Waal is a world-famous ceramicist. Having spent thirty years making beautiful pots--which are then sold... (read more)

Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Sabbath
The Sabbath
by Abraham Heschel
Publisher Comments
Elegant, passionate, and filled with the love of God's creation, Abraham Joshua Heschel's The Sabbath has been hailed as a classic of Jewish spirituality ever since its original publication-and has been read by thousands of people seeking meaning in... (read more)

List Price $14.00
Your price: $7.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


I and Thou
I and Thou
by Martin Buber
Publisher Comments
Martin Buber's I and Thou has long been acclaimed as a classic. Many prominent writers have acknowledged its influence on their work; students of intellectual history consider it a landmark; and the generation born since World War II considers Buber as... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Mans Search for Meaning an Introduction To Logotherapy
Mans Search for Meaning an Introduction To Logotherapy
by Viktor E Frankl
Publisher Comments
Few books in recent decades have had the continuing impact of Dr. Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning -- the classic best seller now considered to be one of the most important contributions to psychiatry since the writing of Freud. In it, Dr. Frankl... (read more)

List Price $11.00
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Family's Century of Art and Loss
The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Family's Century of Art and Loss
by Edmund De Waal
Publisher Comments
An Economist Book of the Year        Costa Book Award Winner for Biography     Galaxy National Book Award Winner (New Writer of the Year Award) Edmund de Waal is a world-famous ceramicist. Having spent thirty... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $16.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


God in Search of Man : a Philosophy of Judaism (55 Edition)
God in Search of Man : a Philosophy of Judaism (55 Edition)
by Abraham J. Heschel
Publisher Comments
Abraham Joshua Heschel was one of the most revered religious leaders of the 20th century, and God in Search of Man and its companion volume, Man Is Not Alone, two of his most important books, are classics of modern Jewish theology. God in Search of Man... (read more)

List Price $20.00
Your price: $11.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Judaism: The Basics
Judaism: The Basics
by Jacob Neusner
Publisher Comments
The oldest of the world's major faiths, Judaism as practiced today represents a tradition that goes back nearly 6,000 years. Accessible and wide-ranging, "Judaism: The Basics" is a must-have resource covering the stories, beliefs and expressions of that... (read more)

List Price $29.50
Your price: $12.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


To Life: A Celebration of Jewish Being and Thinking
To Life: A Celebration of Jewish Being and Thinking
by Harold S Kushner
Publisher Comments
With his special brand of warmth and wisdom, Rabbi Harold S. Kushner awakens readers -- non-Jews as well as Jews curious about the religion they already cherish -- to the exuberance, enjoyment, and relevance of Judaism today. This exhilarating guide... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Jew in the Lotus: Poet's Re-Discovery of Jewish Identity in Buddhist India, a
The Jew in the Lotus: Poet's Re-Discovery of Jewish Identity in Buddhist India, a
by Rodger Kamenetz
Publisher Comments
"A highly entertaining personal account of one man's surprising journey into the mystical heart of Judaism."--Kirkus... (read more)

List Price $14.99
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Outwitting History: The Amazing Adventures of a Man Who Rescued a Million Yiddish Books
Outwitting History: The Amazing Adventures of a Man Who Rescued a Million Yiddish Books
by Aaron Lansky
Publisher Comments
In 1980, a twenty-three-year-old student named Aaron Lansky set out to rescue the worlds abandoned Yiddish books before it was too late. Twenty-five years and one and a half million books later, hes still in the midst of a great adventure. Filled with... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Sabbath Its Meaning for Modern Man
Sabbath Its Meaning for Modern Man
by Abraham J Heschel
Publisher Comments
Elegant, passionate, and filled with the love of God's creation, Abraham Joshua Heschel's The Sabbath has been hailed as a classic of Jewish spirituality ever since its original publication--and has been read by thousands of people seeking meaning in... (read more)

List Price $12.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Haikus for Jews: For You, a Little Wisdom
Haikus for Jews: For You, a Little Wisdom
by David M Bader
Publisher Comments
Why is this haiku book different from all other haiku books? For centuries, the Japanese haiku has been one of the world's most dazzling poetic forms. In just three short lines, it captures the sublime beauty of nature--the croak of the bullfrog, the... (read more)

List Price $11.95
Your price: $3.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Dignity of Difference: How to Avoid the Clash of Civilizations
The Dignity of Difference: How to Avoid the Clash of Civilizations
by Jonathan Sacks
Publisher Comments
The year 2001 began as the United Nations Year of Dialogue between Civilizations. By its end, the phrase that came most readily to mind was 'the clash of civilizations.' The tragedy of September 11 intensified the danger caused by religious differences... (read more)

List Price $21.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
by Deborah Feldman
Publisher Comments
The instant andlt;I andgt;New York Timesandlt;/Iandgt; bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womanand#8217;s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Aliand#8217;s andlt;Iandgt;Infidel andlt;/Iandgt;and Carolyn Jessopand#8217;s andlt... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $7.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Hare with Amber Eyes (Illustrated Edition): A Hidden Inheritance
The Hare with Amber Eyes (Illustrated Edition): A Hidden Inheritance
by Edmund De Waal
Publisher Comments
The definitive illustrated edition of the international bestseller Two hundred and sixty-four Japanese wood and ivory carvings, none of them larger than a matchbox: Edmund de Waal was entranced when he first encountered the collection in his great-uncle... (read more)

Your price: $40.00
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 37 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 721 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Judaism
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.