Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Get Literature...

News, bestseller lists, special Powell's offers, and more in your inbox.

More info about our Subject Newsletters

Literature
New Arrivals


There are 914 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Literature - New Arrivals
Page 1 of 46 next

Go Set a Watchman
Go Set a Watchman
by Harper Lee
Staff Pick
Having sat unpublished for over half a century, the release of Harper Lee's first novel, set 20 years after To Kill a Mockingbird, is truly a literary event. Go Set a Watchman offers an illuminating look at familiar characters and places (Jean Louise... (read more)

List Price $27.99
Your price: $19.59
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Small Backs of Children
The Small Backs of Children
by Lidia Yuknavitch
Staff Pick
Lidia Yuknavitch revisits the aching wound of her stillborn child in The Small Backs of Children. While fiction, this moving novel reads like nonfiction — it is so personal. Yuknavitch has the rare and almost magical ability to write beautifully... (read more)

List Price $24.99
Your price: $17.49
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


Station Eleven
Station Eleven
by Emily St. John Mandel
Publisher Comments
A National Book Award Finalist A PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist Kirsten Raymonde will never forget the night Arthur Leander, the famous Hollywood actor, had a heart attack on stage during a production of King Lear. That was the night when a... (read more)

Your price: $15.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Nora Webster
Nora Webster
by Colm Toibin
Publisher Comments
From one of contemporary literature’s bestselling, critically acclaimed, and beloved authors: a “luminous” novel (Jennifer Egan, The New York Times Book Review) about a fiercely compelling young widow navigating grief, fear, and longing,... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Festival of Insignificance
The Festival of Insignificance
by Milan Kundera
Staff Pick
Milan Kundera's first novel in more than 10 years is a spare, darkly comical book that explores such subjects as art, Stalin, Schopenhauer, the female navel, marionettes, death, and peeing in parks. Deceptively light, The Festival of Insignificance is as... (read more)

List Price $23.99
Your price: $16.79
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Diver's Clothes Lie Empty
The Diver's Clothes Lie Empty
by Vendela Vida
Publisher Comments
From the acclaimed author of Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name and The Lovers comes a taut, spellbinding literary thriller that probes the essence and malleability of identity In Vendela Vida's mesmerizing novel of ideas, a woman travels to... (read more)

List Price $25.99
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Vacationers
The Vacationers
by Emma Straub
Publisher Comments
The delicious, New York Times–bestselling book of the summer: an irresistible, deftly observed novel about the secrets, joys, and jealousies that rise to the surface over the course of an American family's Mediterranean holiday. For the Posts, a two-... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


All This Life
All This Life
by Joshua Mohr
Staff Pick
Mohr is a favorite of several Powell's employees, and his fifth novel does not disappoint. All This Life explores how a mass suicide affects the people who witnessed it, and the ripple effects that follow one teenager's posting of the event online. Mohr... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $17.50
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


We Are Not Ourselves
We Are Not Ourselves
by Matthew Thomas
Publisher Comments
New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2014 * Washington Post Top 50 Fiction List for 2014 * Entertainment Weekly Ten Best Fiction Books of 2014 * Esquire 5 Most Important Books of 2014 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2014 * One of Janet Maslin’s... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Miniaturist
The Miniaturist
by Jessie Burton
Publisher Comments
Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam — a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion — a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. “... (read more)

List Price $16.99
Your price: $11.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Language Arts
Language Arts
by Stephanie Kallos
Publisher Comments
The new novel from the best-selling author of Broken for You spins the stories of a dedicated teacher, his enigmatic son, and a wartime survivor into an affecting tale of love, loss, and handwriting. Charles Marlow teaches his high school English... (read more)

List Price $27.00
Your price: $18.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


In the Unlikely Event
In the Unlikely Event
by Judy Blume
PW Review
"The three fatal plane crashes that hit Elizabeth, N.J., during the winter of 1951 — 52 are the inspiration for Elizabeth-native Blume's latest adult novel (the first since 1998's ), in which young and old alike must learn to come to terms with... (read more)

List Price $27.95
Your price: $19.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


How to Build a Girl
How to Build a Girl
by Caitlin Moran
From Powells.com
Here are some suggestions for places to read this summer: 1) In front of the air-conditioner you finally broke down and bought. 2) At the dog park where they've yet to discover you don't own a dog. 3) While waiting in a ridiculously long line for... (read more)

List Price $15.99
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Vanishing Games
Vanishing Games
by Roger Hobbs
Staff Pick
The Ghostman returns in this thrilling, page-turning, whip-smart read. Hobbs has nailed it again with a story of jewel theft gone wrong set in the glittering casinos and crumbling slums of the gambling city of Macao.... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Meursault Investigation
The Meursault Investigation
by Kamel Daoud
Publisher Comments
He was the brother of "the Arab" killed by the infamous Meursault, the antihero of Camus's classic novel. Seventy years after that event, Harun, who has lived since childhood in the shadow of his sibling's memory, refuses to let him remain anonymous: he... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Other Story
The Other Story
by Tatiana De Rosnay
From Powells.com
Here are some suggestions for places to read this summer: 1) In front of the air-conditioner you finally broke down and bought. 2) At the dog park where they've yet to discover you don't own a dog. 3) While waiting in a ridiculously long line for... (read more)

Your price: $15.99
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


California
California
by Edan Lepucki
From Powells.com
Here are some suggestions for places to read this summer: 1) In front of the air-conditioner you finally broke down and bought. 2) At the dog park where they've yet to discover you don't own a dog. 3) While waiting in a ridiculously long line for... (read more)

Your price: $16.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Bone Clocks
The Bone Clocks
by David Mitchell
From Powells.com
Here are some suggestions for places to read this summer: 1) In front of the air-conditioner you finally broke down and bought. 2) At the dog park where they've yet to discover you don't own a dog. 3) While waiting in a ridiculously long line for... (read more)

Your price: $18.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Let Me Explain You
Let Me Explain You
by Annie Liontas
Publisher Comments
A powerful debut novel about a Greek American family and its enigmatic patriarch from a riveting new voice in contemporary literature. Stavros Stavros Mavrakis, Greek immigrant and proud owner of the Gala Diner, believes he has just ten days to live. As... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


I'd Walk with My Friends If I Could Find Them
I'd Walk with My Friends If I Could Find Them
by Jesse Goolsby
Publisher Comments
In this powerful debut novel, three American soldiers haunted by their actions in Afghanistan search for absolution and human connection in family and civilian life. Wintric Ellis joins the army as soon as he graduates from high school, saying... (read more)

Your price: $24.00
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 46 next»


There are 914 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Literature
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.