Master your Minecraft
 
 

Get Literature...

News, bestseller lists, special Powell's offers, and more in your inbox.

More info about our Subject Newsletters

Literature
New Arrivals


There are 551 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Literature - New Arrivals
Page 1 of 28 next

Loitering: New and Collected Essays
Loitering: New and Collected Essays
by Charles D'Ambrosio
Review
"D'Ambrosio hasn't published anything less than brilliant, but Loitering is remarkable even by his standards." Portland... (read more)

Your price: $15.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


An Unnecessary Woman
An Unnecessary Woman
by Rabih Alameddine
Review
"I can't remember the last time I was so gripped simply by a novels voice...Aaliya is thoughtful, she's complex, she's humorous and critical." NPR... (read more)

Your price: $16.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Land of Plenty
Land of Plenty
by Robert Cantwell
Publisher Comments
A labor strike at a lumber mill divides a town based on the authors hometown of Aberdeen, Washington. The Land of Plenty portrays the blue-collar workers struggle for existence and depicts, with sensitivity and compassion, workers and owners alike in... (read more)

Your price: $16.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


All I Have in This World
All I Have in This World
by Michael Parker
Publisher Comments
Two strangers meet on a windswept car lot in West Texas. Marcus is fleeing the disastrous fallout of chasing a lifelong dream; Maria is returning to the hometown she fled years ago, to make amends. They begin to argue over the car that they both... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Skylight
Skylight
by Jose Saramago
Publisher Comments
A previously unpublished novel by a literary master, Skylight tells the intertwined stories of the residents of a faded apartment building in 1940s Lisbon.   Silvestre and Mariana, a happily married elderly couple, take in a young... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Three Thousand Years of Hebrew Versification: Essays in Comparative Prosody
Three Thousand Years of Hebrew Versification: Essays in Comparative Prosody
by Benjamin Harshav
Publisher Comments
In this unparalleled study of the forms of Hebrew poetry, preeminent authority Benjamin Harshav examines Hebrew verse during three millennia of changing historical and cultural contexts. He takes us around the world of the Jewish Diaspora, comparing the... (read more)

Your price: $86.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Why Read the Classics?
Why Read the Classics?
by Italo Calvino
Publisher Comments
For Italo Calvino, classics are works of enduring cultural value, yes, but also something much more personal: talismans, touchstones, books through which we understand our world and ourselves. In Why Read the Classics?, Calvino shares thirty-six of his... (read more)

Your price: $13.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Road to San Giovanni
The Road to San Giovanni
by Italo Calvino
Publisher Comments
Assembled and published posthumously, The Road to San Giovanni offers Calvinos reflections on his own life and work. These five elegant “memory exercises” provide a varied and revealing portrait of a writer who was deeply wary of... (read more)

Your price: $13.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Happiest People in the World
The Happiest People in the World
by Brock Clarke
Review
"Brock Clarke's hilarious new novel starts out in rural Denmark, then takes us someplace really foreign and utterly weird: upstate New York. The parallel universe Clarke creates there is both our world and not, and like his baffled, yearning characters... (read more)

Your price: $24.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Time for Frankie Coolin
Time for Frankie Coolin
by Bill Granger
Synopsis
Time for Frankie Coolin tells the story of an absentee landlord in Chicago who, in the late 1970s, buys abandoned buildings and makes them just barely habitable so that he can charge minimal rent to his mostly black tenants. He then moved his family to... (read more)

Your price: $16.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Brick Shakespeare: Four Tragedies & Four Comedies [With Poster]
Brick Shakespeare: Four Tragedies & Four Comedies [With Poster]
by John Mccann
Publisher Comments
Never before have Shakespeares plays been depicted in LEGO bricks, and now Brick Shakespeare: The Tragedies—Hamlet, Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet, and Julius Caesar and Brick Shakespeare: The Comedies—A Midsummer Nights Dream, The Tempest, Much Ado... (read more)

Your price: $29.95
New - Set Hardcover

add to wish list


Masterpieces of the English Short Novel: Nine Complete Short Novels
Masterpieces of the English Short Novel: Nine Complete Short Novels
by Kenneth H. Brown
Publisher Comments
These nine novels are "the best of the best"—great writing by some of the most brilliant literary minds of the 18th and 19th centuries. Samuel Johnson's biography of Richard Savage raises the life of a scoundrel to the level of great art; George... (read more)

Your price: $16.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Sins of Our Fathers
Sins of Our Fathers
by Shawn Lawrence Otto
Review
"Fans of Larry Watson and Louise Erdrich will enjoy the intricate plot, well-developed characters, and readers who are interested in mysteries with a Minnesota setting will want to try this edgy page-turner." Library... (read more)

Your price: $26.00
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Death in the Family
Death in the Family
by Ryhaan Shah
Publisher Comments
A father's death brings a family togetherWhen Mohammed Ahmad Ally dies, his family gathers for the religious rites and burial and recall the troubled relationship they had with him. He had lived by tradition and by his deeply held Islamic views, and his... (read more)

Your price: $12.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Floating Life
A Floating Life
by Tad Crawford
Publisher Comments
Following a harrowing job interview in a steam room, a nameless narrator leaves his youthful dreams behind. He finds himself at a party talking to a woman he doesnt know, who proves to be his wife. Soon separated from her but still living in the same... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Children Are Diamonds: An African Apocalypse
Children Are Diamonds: An African Apocalypse
by Edward Hoagland
Publisher Comments
This is not the Africa of Isak Dinsen or Joy Adamson. This is the Africa of civil wars and tribal massacres, where the Lords Resistance Army drafts child-soldiers after forcing them to kill their parents and eat their hearts. The aid workers who... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Songs by the Ettrick Shepherd (Collected Works of James Hogg)
Songs by the Ettrick Shepherd (Collected Works of James Hogg)
by James Hogg
Publisher Comments
Hogg's involvement with song collecting and writing spans the whole of his career, from the early 1800s until the early 1830s, and examples are found across all genres of his work - fiction, drama, poetry and in a number of important musical publications.... (read more)

Your price: $138.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Proof of Angels (P.S.)
Proof of Angels (P.S.)
by Mary Curran Hackett
About the Author
Mary Curran Hackett is an adjunct English professor at the University of Cincinnati. She lives with her husband and children in Cincinnati, Ohio.... (read more)

List Price $14.99
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Return to Travers Corners: Stories
Return to Travers Corners: Stories
by Scott Waldie
Publisher Comments
Travers Corners, if visited by a dedicated urbanite, would be seen as nothing more than a windblown gas station of a town that would make the Middle-of-Nowhere look like Metropolis. Its a town of 329 beloved residents, from Delores who runs to the beauty... (read more)

Your price: $14.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Devil's Tub: Collected Stories
The Devil's Tub: Collected Stories
by Edward Hoagland
Publisher Comments
Edward Hoagland, best known for his essays, is also an extraordinary writer as fiction, as readers of his stories “The Final Fate of Alligators” and “Kwan's Coney Island” can attest. First published in periodicals such as The Paris... (read more)

Your price: $24.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 28 next»


There are 551 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Literature
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.