Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Pacific Northwest
Oregon Eastern


There are 118 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Pacific Northwest - Oregon Eastern
Page 1 of 6 next

The Oregon Desert
The Oregon Desert
by E. R. Jackman and R. A. Long
Publisher Comments
Distributed by the University of Nebraska Press for Caxton Press The Oregon Desert is a wild, rough region that does things to people who try to change it. It is like "The anvil that wears the hammer out." Stories of life on the desert are told with deep,... (read more)

Your price: $17.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Prairie Keepers: Secrets of the Grasslands
The Prairie Keepers: Secrets of the Grasslands
by Marcy Houle
Publisher Comments
Tucked away in the far corner of remote notheastern Oregon lies the ruggedly beautiful Zumwalt Prairie—a seemingly peaceful land of waving grasses that has become a symbolic battleground in the war between ranchers and environmentalists over the... (read more)

List Price $14.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Massacred for Gold: The Chinese in Hells Canyon
Massacred for Gold: The Chinese in Hells Canyon
by R. Gregory Nokes
Publisher Comments
In 1887, more than thirty Chinese gold miners were massacred on the Oregon side of Hells Canyon, the deepest canyon in North America. Massacred for Gold, the first authoritative account of the unsolved crime, unearths the evidence that points to an... (read more)

List Price $18.95
Your price: $11.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Out Here: Poems and Images from Steens Mountain Country
Out Here: Poems and Images from Steens Mountain Country
by Ursula K Le Guin
Synopsis
Out Here is a hard bound book, 10.5"X9" in deminsion, of 112 pages, consisting of 26 poems and 23 pen and ink drawings by Ursula K. Le Guin and 59 color photographs by Roger Dorband. The artistry of this book draws its inspiration from the Steens... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $14.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Cattle Country of Peter French
Cattle Country of Peter French
by Giles French
Synopsis
This honest portrayal of the cattle barons of the Old West is more readable, more challenging than any fiction about them. In southeast Oregon, Peter French, manager of the P Ranch and "Boss of the Blizen" was dedicated to building his cattle empire with... (read more)

List Price $12.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Rajneesh Chronicles: The True Story of the Cult That Unleashed the First Act of Bioterrorism on U.S. Soil
The Rajneesh Chronicles: The True Story of the Cult That Unleashed the First Act of Bioterrorism on U.S. Soil
by Win Mccormack
Synopsis
The Rajneesh Chronicles is a collection of in-depth investigative and analytical articles published in Oregon Magazine covering the establishment of the city of Rajneeshpuram in Central Oregon in mid-1981 to its dramatic disintegration at the end of 1985.... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $17.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Pendleton (Images of America)
Pendleton (Images of America)
by Elizabeth Gibson
Publisher Comments
Before Europeans came to the Pendleton area, the Umatilla River valley of eastern Oregon was populated by Native Americans. The Cayuse, Umatilla, Walla Walla, and Nez Percé Indians avoided conflict and befriended early white settlers. Catholic... (read more)

Your price: $21.99
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Biography of a Place Signed Edition
Biography of a Place Signed Edition
by Martin Winch
Publisher Comments
Biography of a Place explores and weaves together the social and natural history of one meadow. It digs down into the roots of place, following Indian peoples through traditional time, early European exploration, settlement, and finally the establishment... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $11.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Owning It All ((Rev)02 Edition)
Owning It All ((Rev)02 Edition)
by William Kittredge
Publisher Comments
This is a deeply felt and highly informed essay collection about life in the American west by one of the finest writers ever to emerge from that region. As the Seattle Times has said of Owning It All: "You may never again see the American west in quite... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $8.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Poverty Wasn't Painful: Depression Recollections of Eastern Oregon Ranch Life
Poverty Wasn't Painful: Depression Recollections of Eastern Oregon Ranch Life
by Elaine Dahl Rohse
Publisher Comments
Poverty Wasnt Painful is a must read for Kansans, Nebraskans, Oregonians - all those who knew the drought, the dust bowl, or grew up during hard times. Folks growing up during the Depression - who share camaraderie not unlike that of blood relatives... (read more)

List Price $20.95
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Hole in the Sky: A Memoir
Hole in the Sky: A Memoir
by William Kittredge
Review
USAutobiography/Memoir "A pleasure to read ... [Kittredge] has written a remarkably frank account of his own life, and at every stage it was interesting.... You will not have read another Western like this." -- Washington Post Book World "... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $9.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Child of Steens Mountain
Child of Steens Mountain
by Eileen Oke Mcvicker
Publisher Comments
For Eileen O'Keeffe McVicker, born in 1927 to an Irish immigrant sheep rancher and a school teacher, growing up on a homestead in the West made for "a hard, happy life with layers of riches." McVicker's memoir of a childhood spent on the southern... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Oregon Desert
The Oregon Desert
by E R Jackman
Synopsis
The Oregon Desert is a wild, rough region that does things to people who try to change it. It is like "The anvil that wears the hammer out." Wild horses run through this book. All of the desert animals shyly peek out from its pages. Desert towns spring... (read more)

List Price $19.95
Your price: $13.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Netting the Sun: A Personal Geography of the Oregon Desert (Northwest Voices Essays)
Netting the Sun: A Personal Geography of the Oregon Desert (Northwest Voices Essays)
by Melvin R Adams
Publisher Comments
Netting the Sun offers a carefully crafted diversity of natural and human stories from a landscape seemingly empty and forlorn to passing casual travelers. This surprising interpretation of south central Oregon's botany, geology, wildlife, ethnography... (read more)

List Price $16.25
Your price: $8.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Measure of Endurance: The Unlikely Triumph of Steven Sharp
A Measure of Endurance: The Unlikely Triumph of Steven Sharp
by William Mishler
Publisher Comments
The remarkable, heartwarming story of a courageous teenage boy, who, after being gravely injured while using a farm machine, takes on its powerful manufacturer and wins. Steven Sharp was a hardworking, energetic sixteen-year-old growing up happily in a... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $4.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Rajneesh Chronicles: The True Story of the Cult That Unleashed the First Act of Bioterrorism on U.S. Soil
The Rajneesh Chronicles: The True Story of the Cult That Unleashed the First Act of Bioterrorism on U.S. Soil
by Win Mccormack
Synopsis
The Rajneesh Chronicles is a collection of in-depth investigative and analytical articles published in Oregon Magazine covering the establishment of the city of Rajneeshpuram in Central Oregon in mid-1981 to its dramatic disintegration at the end of 1985.... (read more)

List Price $14.95
Your price: $8.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Insiders Guide Bend & Central Oregon 2ND Edition
Insiders Guide Bend & Central Oregon 2ND Edition
by Leslie Cole
Publisher Comments
Insiders' Guide to Bend offers travelers, newcomers, and locals the best, most comprehensive information on what's happening in Central Oregon. Bend and its environs encompass a unique geological area that ranges from the High Desert to the Cascade... (read more)

List Price $17.95
Your price: $11.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


River House: A Memoir
River House: A Memoir
by Sarahlee Lawrence
Synopsis
River House is one young woman's story about returning home to her family's ranch and, with the help of her father, building a log house on the property. Sarahlee Lawrence grew up in remote central Oregon and spent her days dreaming about leaving her... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Geography of Saints: A Memoir
A Geography of Saints: A Memoir
by Penny Allen
Publisher Comments
A delightful western memoir, for readers who love Pam Houston and Melissa Banks. A Geography of Saintsis a fascinating and clear-eyed account of the author's first year caretaking a horse ranch outside Saints, Oregon. In language as terse as Tom McGuane,... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


"Picturesque" frontier :the Army's Fort Dalles
"Picturesque" frontier :the Army's Fort Dalles
by Priscilla Knuth
Publisher Comments
The unique Columbia River U.S. outpost with its innovative architectural features became the preeminent military post in the region.... (read more)

Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 6 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 118 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Pacific Northwest
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.