Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Politics
Labor


There are 2272 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Politics - Labor
Page 1 of 114 next

"They're Bankrupting Us!": And 20 Other Myths about Unions
"They're Bankrupting Us!": And 20 Other Myths about Unions
by Bill Fletcher, Jr.
Publisher Comments
From Wisconsin to Washington, DC, the claims are made: unions are responsible for budget deficits, and their members are overpaid and enjoy cushy benefits. The only way to save the American economy, pundits claim, is to weaken the labor movement, strip... (read more)

Your price: $15.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Death and Life of American Labor: Toward a New Worker's Movement
The Death and Life of American Labor: Toward a New Worker's Movement
by Stanley Aronowitz
Publisher Comments
Stanley Aronowitz has taught at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York since 1983, where he is Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Urban Education, and where he is Director of the Center for the Study of Culture, Technology and Work.... (read more)

Your price: $26.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America
by Barbara Ehrenreich
Publisher Comments
A revelatory account of poverty in America so deep that we, as a country, don’t think it exists Jessica Compton’s family of four would have no cash income unless she donated plasma twice a week at her local donation center in... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $7.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Factories in the Field : the Story of Migratory Farm Labor in California (99 Edition)
Factories in the Field : the Story of Migratory Farm Labor in California (99 Edition)
by Carey Mcwilliams
Publisher Comments
This book was the first broad exposé of the social and environmental damage inflicted by the growth of corporate agriculture in California. Factories in the Field—together with the work of Dorothea Lange, Paul Taylor, and John Steinbeck... (read more)

List Price $31.95
Your price: $24.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Suburban Sweatshops (05 Edition)
Suburban Sweatshops (05 Edition)
by Jennifer Gordon
Publisher Comments
Honorable Mention, 2005 Gustavus Myers Center Outstanding Book Award, Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Bigotry and Human... (read more)

List Price $22.00
Your price: $12.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Moral Underground (09 Edition)
Moral Underground (09 Edition)
by Lisa Dodson
Publisher Comments
Called a “fascinating exploration of economic civil disobedience” by Publishers Weekly, Lisa Dodsons stunning book The Moral Underground features stories of middle-class managers and professionals who refuse to be complicit in an economy that... (read more)

List Price $17.95
Your price: $10.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Raising Expectations (and Raising Hell): My Decade Fighting for the Labor Movement
Raising Expectations (and Raising Hell): My Decade Fighting for the Labor Movement
by Jane Mcalevey
Publisher Comments
Jane McAlevey Jane McAlevey spent twenty-five years as an organizer in the student, environmental, and trade union movements. She is a Contributing Writer at the Nation, and lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. From the Hardcover... (read more)

Your price: $19.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Problem With Work: Feminism, Marxism, Antiwork Politics, and Postwork Imaginaries (11 Edition)
Problem With Work: Feminism, Marxism, Antiwork Politics, and Postwork Imaginaries (11 Edition)
by Kathi Weeks
Publisher Comments
Once, work was inextricably linked to survival and self-preservation: the farmer ploughed his land so that his family could eat. In contrast, today work has slowly morphed into a painful and meaningless ritual for many, colonizing almost every part of... (read more)

List Price $28.95
Your price: $18.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Playing for Dollars (96 Edition)
Playing for Dollars (96 Edition)
by Paul D. Staudohar
Book News Annotation
In the tradition of The Tao of Physics, Perkowitz (physics, Emory U.) mingles scientific theories with psychic mysteries, creating an elegant and evocative technical interpretation of light's story. Inspired by Magritte's painting Empire of Light and... (read more)

List Price $33.50
Your price: $26.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Only One Thing Can Save Us: Why America Needs a New Kind of Labor Movement
Only One Thing Can Save Us: Why America Needs a New Kind of Labor Movement
by Thomas Geoghegan
Publisher Comments
Is labors day over or is labor the only real answer for our time? In his new book, National Book Critics Circle Award finalist and labor lawyer Thomas Geoghegan argues that even as organized labor seems to be crumbling, a revived—but different—... (read more)

Your price: $25.95
New - Hardcover

add to wish list


Labor's Giant Step: The First Twenty Years of the CIO: 1936-55
Labor's Giant Step: The First Twenty Years of the CIO: 1936-55
by Art Preis
Book News Annotation
The late Preis, a long-time member of the Socialist Workers Party and staff writer for the SWP's newsweekly The Militant, narrates the history of the first twenty years of the Congress of Industrial Organizations, from its founding in 1936 to its... (read more)

Your price: $30.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


In Solidarity: Academic Librarian Labour Activism and Union Participation in Canada
In Solidarity: Academic Librarian Labour Activism and Union Participation in Canada
by Mary Kandiuk
Book News Annotation
In both Canada and the U.S., academic librarians are among the most heavily unionized workers. However, there is very little information about the unionization of librarians. This book provides the history of academic librarian labour organizing... (read more)

Your price: $50.25
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Why David Sometimes Wins: Leadership, Organization, and Strategy in the California Farm Worker Movement
Why David Sometimes Wins: Leadership, Organization, and Strategy in the California Farm Worker Movement
by Marshall Ganz
Publisher Comments
Why David Sometimes Wins tells the story of Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers' groundbreaking victory, drawing important lessons from this dramatic tale. Since the 1900s, large-scale agricultural enterprises relied on migrant labor--a cheap... (read more)

Your price: $30.50
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Condition of the Working Class in England
The Condition of the Working Class in England
by Friedrich Engels
About the Author
Born in Westphalia in 1820, Friedrich Engels was the son of a textile manufacturer. After military training in Berlin and already a convert to communism, Engels went to Manchester in 1842 to represent the family firm. A relationship with a mill-hand... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Fighting for the Union Label: The Women's Garment Industry and the ILGWU in Pennsylvania
Fighting for the Union Label: The Women's Garment Industry and the ILGWU in Pennsylvania
by Kenneth C Wolensky
Review
“An absorbing biography of a labor movement that fought for workers’ rights for decades, only to see membership decline as the volume of imported apparel rose.”—Mary O. Bradley, Harrisburg Patriot News... (read more)

List Price $34.95
Your price: $13.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Fight for Fifteen: The Right Wage for a Working America
The Fight for Fifteen: The Right Wage for a Working America
by David Rolf
Publisher Comments
The fight for a higher minimum wage has become the biggest national labor story in decades. Beginning in November 2012, strikes by fast food workers spread across the country, landing in Seattle in May 2013. Within a year, Seattle had adopted a $15... (read more)

Available February 2016
Your price: $15.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Rising From the Rails : Pullman Porters and the Making of the Black Middle Class (04 Edition)
Rising From the Rails : Pullman Porters and the Making of the Black Middle Class (04 Edition)
by Larry Tye
Publisher Comments
"A lively and engaging chronicle that adds yet another dimension to the historical record." -The Boston Globe When George Pullman began recruiting Southern blacks as porters in his luxurious new sleeping cars, the former slaves suffering under Jim Crow... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $10.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Out in the Union: A Labor History of Queer America
Out in the Union: A Labor History of Queer America
by Miriam Frank
Publisher Comments
Out in the Union tells the continuous story of queer American workers from the mid-1960s through 2013. Miriam Frank shrewdly chronicles the evolution of labor politics with queer activism and identity formation, showing how unions began affirming the... (read more)

Your price: $30.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Enough Blame to Go Around: The Labor Pains of New York City's Public Employee Unions
Enough Blame to Go Around: The Labor Pains of New York City's Public Employee Unions
by Richard Steier
Publisher Comments
Veteran labor journalist Richard Steier explores the tensions between New York City's public employee unions, their critics, and city and state politicians.... (read more)

Your price: $24.95
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Shifting Fortunes
Shifting Fortunes
by Daniel Nelson
Publisher Comments
How and why have American labor unions grown in the century and a half since the industrial revolution? In this concise and illuminating history of the labor movement, Daniel Nelson traces the ebb and flow of union activity since the early nineteenth... (read more)

List Price $16.75
Your price: $8.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 114 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 2272 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Politics
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.