Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Get Staff Picks...

News, bestseller lists, special Powell's offers, and more in your inbox.

More info about our Subject Newsletters

Staff Picks
Kevin Sampsell


Kevin Sampsell runs the small press section at Powell's and is the publisher of his own micro-press, Future Tense Books. His books include Creamy Bullets, Portland Noir, and the memoir A Common Pornography.

There are 38 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Staff Picks - Kevin Sampsell
Page 2 of 2

Make Loneliness
Make Loneliness
by J. Reuben Appelman
Staff Pick
Appelman is a poet for the ages. Make Loneliness is cool, crazy, hard to categorize.... (read more)

List Price $12.95
Your price: $6.50
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Primitive Mentor
Primitive Mentor
by Dean Young
Staff Pick
Dean Young looks like a normal guy, but on the inside you'll not find a trace of conformity anywhere. You can barely go three lines without your brain trying to rewire itself. The latest book in Young's influential career (his ninth!), Primitive Mentor... (read more)

List Price $14.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Golden Calf
The Golden Calf
by Henry Baum
Staff Pick
This tight little novel is a burst of comic angst and venom in the tradition of Selby, Bukowski, and Nelson Algren. Originally published by Soft Skull back when their books were glued in a basement apartment, this new version of The Golden Calf is part... (read more)

List Price $17.25
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


What Waiting Really Means (American Literature)
What Waiting Really Means (American Literature)
by June Akers Seese
Staff Pick
I recently discovered this mysterious book, What Waiting Really Means, and was instantly won over by its quirky charms. Seese, an author who has been unfairly overlooked for the last 20 years, writes like a combo of Flannery O'Connor and Lydia Davis.... (read more)

List Price $10.95
Your price: $1.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Big World
Big World
by Mary Miller
Staff Pick
Miller is in complete control of the scenes she creates. Full of character details that are illuminating, familiar, and often distressing, Miller's sharp and assured stories remind me of that people-next-door quality that Raymond Carver perfected in his... (read more)

List Price $11.95
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Drunk by Noon
Drunk by Noon
by Jennifer L. Knox
Staff Pick
Knox does it again. She is one of the most hilarious and unpredictable poets working today. Drunk by Noon is refreshing and wild.... (read more)

List Price $18.75
Your price: $15.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Nice Big American Baby
Nice Big American Baby
by Judy Budnitz
Staff Pick
"While this is a difficult book to pin down or pigeonhole, it isn't a difficult book to marvel at or enjoy. Budnitz traffics in contemporary, global themes....Provocative, disturbing, wry, and just plain fascinating, Nice Big American Baby is some of the... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Knockemstiff
Knockemstiff
by Donald Ray Pollock
Staff Pick
This book, and its writer, came out of nowhere and knocked me square in the throat. You could see Knockemstiff as a dark, demented updating of Winesburg, Ohio, or you could simply notice it as the work of a new American master. Pollock goes where many... (read more)

List Price $22.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Ghost Machine
Ghost Machine
by Ben Mirov
Staff Pick
This was one of those books that seemed like it came at just the right time in my life. I loved its muted sadness and the occasionally surreal descriptions of that sadness, and I loved the weird way the poems sample from each other throughout the book... (read more)

Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Poemland
Poemland
by Chelsey Minnis
Staff Pick
Minnis, a former Portlander (she used to read at the Café Lena open mic!), has been known to communicate through angsty verbiage and sullen silences (illustrated by her love of ellipses). Poemland, her third book, displays a fresh new confidence in her... (read more)

List Price $14.00
Your price: $10.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Hiding Out
Hiding Out
by Jonathan Messinger
Staff Pick
Hiding Out, Messinger's wonderful debut collection, is full of mishaps and mishaps waiting to happen, but he somehow transforms the uncomfortable moments into familiar sparks that shine and resonate.... (read more)

List Price $13.50
Your price: $8.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Without Wax: A Documentary Novel
Without Wax: A Documentary Novel
by William Walsh
Staff Pick
Without Wax is one of the best novels about the porn industry since Terry Southern's Blue Movie.... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Alabama Wildman
Alabama Wildman
by Thurston Moore
Staff Pick
Sonic Youth guitarist makes some noise with his pen in these odd, rambling poems and fake journal entries. In this nice hardcover printing, his language poems can sometimes seem like accompaniment reading for SY's more ambient albums of late, and there... (read more)

Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Ever
Ever
by Blake Butler
Your price: $12.00
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Nellcott Is My Darling
Nellcott Is My Darling
by Golda Fried
List Price $14.95
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Bicycle
Bicycle
by Paul Fattaruso
Staff Pick
An amazing meditation/fever dream/love song/mini epic about one man's love for a bike. Or is it a girl? All I know is that Bicycle is the ideal gift for any bike geek/poet out there.... (read more)

Your price: $12.75
New - Trade Paper

add to wish list


I Was Never Cool
I Was Never Cool
by Joseph Musso
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Please Don't Kill the Freshman
Please Don't Kill the Freshman
by Zoe Trope
Your price: $6.50
Used - Pamphlet

add to wish list


«prev 1 2


There are 38 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Staff Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.