Poetry Madness
 
 

Staff Picks


spacer

Get Staff Picks...

News, bestseller lists, special Powell's offers, and more in your inbox.

More info about our Subject Newsletters

Staff Picks
Rico


There are 42 books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Staff Picks - Rico
Page 1 of 3 next

Life
Life
by Keith Richards and James Fox
Staff Pick
This riveting autobiography by celebrated (and famously hard-living) guitar legend Keith Richards reads with the unforgettable hook and crisp ferocity of the best Rolling Stones songs — most of which you'll rush to replay after learning about their... (read more)

List Price $29.99
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void
by Mary Roach
Staff Pick
If you haven't read Mary Roach's previous bestsellers Bonk and Stiff (shame on you!), Packing for Mars is as good an introduction to Roach as you'll find. Space travel hasn't been this funny or intriguing since Douglas Adams — and best of all, it's... (read more)

List Price $25.95
Your price: $8.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents Earth (the Book): A Visitor's Guide to the Human Race
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents Earth (the Book): A Visitor's Guide to the Human Race
by Jon Stewart
Staff Pick
You already know from the title whether you want this book. If you love The Daily Show, Jon Stewart, and their first book, America (the Book), then prepare yourself for a hilarious, tear-stained laugh-fest that will send neighbors running with alarm... (read more)

List Price $27.99
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Peter and the Starcatchers
Peter and the Starcatchers
by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
Staff Pick
Peter and the Starcatchers is a nearly perfect, swashbuckling adventure that's sure to please girls and boys alike. A brilliantly conceived prequel to Peter Pan.... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories
Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories
by Tobias Wolff
Publisher Comments
"One of our most exquisite storytellers" (Esquire) gives us his first collection in over a decade: ten potent new stories that, along with twenty-one classics, display his mastery over a quarter century. Tobias Wolff's first two books, In the Garden... (read more)

List Price $17.00
Your price: $9.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Lost Colony: Artemis Fowl, Book Five (Artemis Fowl #05)
The Lost Colony: Artemis Fowl, Book Five (Artemis Fowl #05)
by Eoin Colfer
Staff Pick
The fifth book in this venerable series finds young criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl up to his nefarious tricks. This time he has to fend off a demon invasion by unraveling the mystery of a time spell. Fans of the series won't be disappointed by this... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $3.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The System of the World:  #03 Baroque Cycle
The System of the World: #03 Baroque Cycle
by Neal Stephenson
Staff Pick
The concluding volume of the Baroque Cycle mixes swashbuckling adventure, historical romance, mathematics, and Isaac Newton into a frothy brew that's truly irresistible.... (read more)

List Price $16.99
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Skippy Dies
Skippy Dies
by Paul Murray
Staff Pick
Talk about a spoiler! Yes, Skippy dies. (Or maybe he doesn't. I'll never tell.) But the fact of his death isn't nearly as important as the why, which Paul Murray's Dublin-set novel explores with a dizzying mix of hilarity and tragedy that's never less... (read more)

List Price $28.00
Your price: $11.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Star Trek: The Original Series 365
Star Trek: The Original Series 365
by Paula M. Block and Terry J. Erdmann
Staff Pick
Whether you enjoy Star Trek as a guilty pleasure or you genuinely embrace it as the pinnacle of sci-fi radness, you'll love this book! Beam it up and you'll spend an entire year boldly making bad puns.... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Artemis Fowl #05: The Lost Colony
Artemis Fowl #05: The Lost Colony
by Eoin Colfer
Staff Pick
The fifth book in this venerable series finds young criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl up to his nefarious tricks. This time he has to fend off a demon invasion by unraveling the mystery of a time spell. Fans of the series won't be disappointed by this... (read more)

List Price $7.99
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The System of the World: Baroque Cycle #03
The System of the World: Baroque Cycle #03
by Neal Stephenson
Staff Pick
The concluding volume of the Baroque Cycle mixes swashbuckling adventure, historical romance, mathematics, and Isaac Newton into a frothy brew that's truly irresistible.... (read more)

List Price $27.95
Your price: $9.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century
The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century
by Alex Ross
Staff Pick
Among its many other innovations, the 20th century was the first to truly have its own soundtrack. New Yorker music critic Alex Ross is nothing if not ambitious, and, as he tracks the history of 20th-century music (and the music of 20th-century history... (read more)

List Price $20.00
Your price: $11.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Breathers: A Zombie's Lament
Breathers: A Zombie's Lament
by S. G. Browne
Staff Pick
Vampires get to be in love and sell millions of books. Why shouldn't zombies get the same privileges? Breathers corrects this egregious oversight with an undead love story that manages, against all odds, to be tender and funny. And full of brains.... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
by Atul Gawande
Staff Pick
Who among us hasn't trembled at the very prospect of entering a doctor's office? It should give us all comfort, then, that bestselling author, general surgeon, and MacArthur Fellow Atul Gawande has written Better, a book that challenges surgeons to... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Paradise Built in Hell: The Extraordinary Communities That Arise in Disaster
A Paradise Built in Hell: The Extraordinary Communities That Arise in Disaster
by Rebecca Solnit
Staff Pick
If, like me, you've ever wondered how people can possibly survive the mental ordeal of a catastrophe like 9/11 or Hurricane Katrina, A Paradise Built in Hell will pique your curiosity — and reward it with a riveting examination of what happens to... (read more)

List Price $27.95
Your price: $12.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Island Beneath the Sea
Island Beneath the Sea
by Isabel Allende
Staff Pick
With a multitude of vivid characters and lush settings — from Saint-Domingue sugar plantations to 19th-century New Orleans — this book is everything you expect from Isabel Allende, an epic that swells with beauty, anguish, and, above all, passion.... (read more)

List Price $26.99
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Captain Alatriste
Captain Alatriste
by Arturo Perez-Reverte
Staff Pick
Is the literary adventure novel coming back into vogue? While Pérez-Reverte has always been an advocate of the form (not to mention one of its finest practitioners), the double whammy of Isabel Allende's thrilling Zorro and the U.S. edition of Captain... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $10.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Devil's Star
The Devil's Star
by Jo Nesbo
Staff Pick
When did Northern Europe turn into a hotbed of great crime novels? Fans of Henning Mankell and Stieg Larsson can rejoice, as Scandinavian writer Jo Nesbø's Harry Hole series continues with The Devil's Star. Expect a bit of gloom and introspection, yes... (read more)

List Price $25.99
Your price: $12.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Looking Glass Wars (Looking Glass Wars)
The Looking Glass Wars (Looking Glass Wars)
by Frank Beddor
Staff Pick
In the wake of Harry Potter, YA fantasy novels have become a dime a dozen. Luckily there are gems like The Looking Glass Wars that stand out. This lively, engaging adventure will thrill anyone who's ever read the Alice in Wonderland books and wished they... (read more)

List Price $9.99
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories
Our Story Begins: New and Selected Stories
by Tobias Wolff
Staff Pick
This collection of new and classic short stories shows why Wolff is one of today's preeminent storytellers. He's already a fixture in modern American literature textbooks — but Wolff's writing is too sharp, too alive, too urgent to be confined... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 3 next»


There are 42 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Staff Picks
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.