Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Western Civilization
20th Century


There are 240 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Western Civilization - 20th Century
Page 5 of 12 next

Life After Death: Approaches to a Cultural and Social History of Europe During the 1940s and 1950s (Publications of the German Historical Institute)
Life After Death: Approaches to a Cultural and Social History of Europe During the 1940s and 1950s (Publications of the German Historical Institute)
by Richard Bessel
Publisher Comments
Novel approach to the cultural and social history of Europe after the Second World War.... (read more)

List Price $99.25
Your price: $3.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History
The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History
by Robert Conquest
Publisher Comments
The publication of in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's and George Orwell's , this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Rebirth of Europe
Rebirth of Europe
by Elizabeth Pond
Publisher Comments
The rejuvenation of Europe as a totalitarian century ends and a global century begins is a remarkable story. This book brings together the three dynamics of Europe's position at this extraordinary moment: European monetary union, the deepening of intra... (read more)

List Price $18.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Strange Rebels: 1979 and the Birth of the 21st Century
Strange Rebels: 1979 and the Birth of the 21st Century
by Christian Caryl
Publisher Comments
Few moments in history have seen as many seismic transformations as 1979. That single year marked the emergence of revolutionary Islam as a political force on the world stage, the beginning of market revolutions in China and Britain that would fuel... (read more)

List Price $28.99
Your price: $10.98
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


Thinking the Twentieth Century (12 Edition)
Thinking the Twentieth Century (12 Edition)
by Judt
Publisher Comments
"Ideas crackle" in this triumphant final book of Tony Judt, taking readers on "a wild ride through the ideological currents and shoals of 20th century thought.” (Los Angeles Times) One of our most brilliant historians, Tony Judt... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $10.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The War of the World: Twentieth-Century Conflict and the Descent of the West
The War of the World: Twentieth-Century Conflict and the Descent of the West
by Niall Ferguson
Publisher Comments
Astonishing in its scope and erudition, this is the magnum opus that Niall Ferguson's numerous acclaimed works have been leading up to. In it, he grapples with perhaps the most challenging questions of modern history: Why was the twentieth century... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Atlantic and Its Enemies: A History of the Cold War
The Atlantic and Its Enemies: A History of the Cold War
by Norman Stone
Publisher Comments
Pre-eminent historian Norman Stones The Atlantic and Its Enemies is a masterful history of the Cold War. As Soviet influence spread insidiously from nation to nation, the Americans and British were overwhelmed by the coups, collapsing armies, and civil... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern Europe
The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern Europe
by T. C. W. Blanning
Publisher Comments
Modern Europeans, argues T. C. W. Blanning, are characterized by the conviction that the ground is moving beneath their feet. Among other things, it has given them a strong sense of dynamism: the world is changing, it can be changed, and so it should be... (read more)

List Price $22.50
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Time 100: Heroes & Inspirations Person of the Century
Time 100: Heroes & Inspirations Person of the Century
by Time Inc
Publisher Comments
Memorable portraits of 20 great people who have led humanity through inspirational words and deeds. Time's editors designate the famed "Person of the Century."... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $1.00
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Facts Are Subversive: Political Writing from a Decade Without a Name
Facts Are Subversive: Political Writing from a Decade Without a Name
by Timothy Garton Ash
Publisher Comments
Timothy Garton Ash is well known as an astute and penetrating observer of a dazzling array of subjects, not least through his many contributions to the New York Review of Books. This collection of his essays from the last decade reveals his knack for... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Odd Man Out: Truman, Stalin, Mao, and the Origins of the Korean War
Odd Man Out: Truman, Stalin, Mao, and the Origins of the Korean War
by Richard C Thornton
Publisher Comments
Odd Man Out is a novel assessment of the motives and strategies of Harry Truman, Joseph Stalin, and Mao Zedong as they struggled to maneuver their countries into positions of advantage in the postwar world. Their successes and failures resulted in the... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


History of the Present: Dispatches from Europe
History of the Present: Dispatches from Europe
by Timothy Garton Ash
Publisher Comments
andldquo;Why are Kazakhstan and Montana the same place?andrdquo; asks one chapter of Kate Brownandrsquo;s surprising and unusual journey into the histories of places on the margins, overlooked or erased. It turns out that a ruined mining town in... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


1913: In Search of the World Before the Great War
1913: In Search of the World Before the Great War
by Charles Emmerson
Publisher Comments
Today, 1913 is inevitably viewed through the lens of 1914: as the last year before a war that would shatter the global economic order and tear Europe apart, undermining its global pre-eminence. Our perspectives narrowed by hindsight, the world of that... (read more)

List Price $30.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Our Supreme Task: How Winston Churchill's Iron Curtain Speech Defined the Cold War Alliance
Our Supreme Task: How Winston Churchill's Iron Curtain Speech Defined the Cold War Alliance
by Philip White
Publisher Comments
In 1946, in the midst of global turmoil and after being voted out of office, Winston Churchill made a trip to the unlikely venue of Fulton, Missouri, to deliver an address now known as the Iron Curtain Speech, which defined the dangers of totalitarian... (read more)

List Price $26.99
Your price: $12.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


History of the World Economy in the Twentieth Century #0004: World in Depression, 1929-1939: Revised Edition
History of the World Economy in the Twentieth Century #0004: World in Depression, 1929-1939: Revised Edition
by Charle Kindleberger
Publisher Comments
“The World in Depression is the best book on the subject, and the subject, in turn, is the economically decisive decade of the century so far.”—John Kenneth... (read more)

List Price $17.95
Your price: $11.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings
Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings
by Craig Brown
Publisher Comments
IMAGINE THESE UNLIKELY—BUT TRUE—ENCOUNTERS: Martha Graham and Madonna Igor Stravinsky and Walt Disney Frank Lloyd Wright and Marilyn Monroe Marilyn Monroe and Nikita Khrushchev President Richard M. Nixon and Elvis Presley Harpo Marx... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Women, Gender and Fascism in Europe, 1919-45
Women, Gender and Fascism in Europe, 1919-45
by Kevin Passmore
Publisher Comments
What attracts women to far-right movements that appear to denigrate them? This question has vexed feminist scholars for decades, and has led to lively debates in the academy. During the 1980s, scholars produced many studies of women, gender, and fascism... (read more)

List Price $30.25
Your price: $3.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Where Were You When?: 180 Unforgettable Moments in Living History
Where Were You When?: 180 Unforgettable Moments in Living History
by Ian Harrison
Publisher Comments
Take a trip back through six decades of pivotal events and relive?through the reflections of people who were there plus over 200 reminiscent photos?the moments when history was being made. Where Were You When? lets you experience the drama and impact of... (read more)

List Price $19.95
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Consolidation of Democracy in East-Central Europe (Democratization & Authoritarianism in Post-Communist Societies)
The Consolidation of Democracy in East-Central Europe (Democratization & Authoritarianism in Post-Communist Societies)
by Karen Dawisha
Publisher Comments
This volume examines the post-communist and political transition in Baltic States (Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania), Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary.... (read more)

List Price $72.50
Your price: $2.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The President, the Pope, and the Prime Minister: Three Who Changed the World
The President, the Pope, and the Prime Minister: Three Who Changed the World
by John Osullivan
Publisher Comments
The President, the Pope, and the Prime Minister is a sweeping, dramatic account of how three great figures changed the course of history. All of them led with courage — but also with great optimism. The pope helped ordinary Poles and East Europeans... (read more)

List Price $27.95
Your price: $4.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


«prev 1 ... 3 4 5 7 ... 12 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 240 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Western Civilization
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.