Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Western Civilization
20th Century


There are 251 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Western Civilization - 20th Century
Page 5 of 13 next

European Political Thought Since 1945 (European Culture and Society)
European Political Thought Since 1945 (European Culture and Society)
by Noel Osullivan
Publisher Comments
This book offers a critical account of the response of leading European political thinkers to the postwar task of reconstruction, the advent of totalitarianism in the USSR, and the emergence of increasing social diversity and supra-national political... (read more)

List Price $38.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Where Have All the Soldiers Gone?: The Transformation of Modern Europe
Where Have All the Soldiers Gone?: The Transformation of Modern Europe
by James Sheehan
Publisher Comments
In this lively and ambitious book, James Sheehan charts what is perhaps the most radical shift in Europes history: its transformation from war-torn battlefield to peaceful, prosperous society. For centuries, war was Europes defining narrative, affecting... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $7.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Rethinking Europe's Future
Rethinking Europe's Future
by David P Calleo
Publisher Comments
"A truly distinguished book. Major. Important. Seminal. There is plenty in here for everyone to learn about the deeper meaning of what happened in recent European history and how it relates to what we ought to do. David Calleo's book is different in... (read more)

List Price $39.95
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Voltaire's Bastards: The Dictatorship of Reason in the West
Voltaire's Bastards: The Dictatorship of Reason in the West
by John Ralston Saul
Publisher Comments
With a new introduction by the author, this and#8220;erudite and brilliantly readable bookand#8221; (The Observer, London) astutely dissects the political, economic and social origins of Western civilization to reveal a culture cripplingly enslaved to... (read more)

List Price $19.99
Your price: $9.98
Sale - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Dictionary of Contemporary World History: From 1900 to the Present Day
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History: From 1900 to the Present Day
by Jan Palmowski
Publisher Comments
Find out the facts behind the headlines with this fully revised dictionary of contemporary world history. Recently updated to include new entries on America and the Middle East, this authoritative dictionary provides both fact and analysis of figures and... (read more)

List Price $45.00
Your price: $5.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Life After Death: Approaches to a Cultural and Social History of Europe During the 1940s and 1950s (Publications of the German Historical Institute)
Life After Death: Approaches to a Cultural and Social History of Europe During the 1940s and 1950s (Publications of the German Historical Institute)
by Richard Bessel
Publisher Comments
Novel approach to the cultural and social history of Europe after the Second World War.... (read more)

List Price $99.25
Your price: $3.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History
The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History
by Robert Conquest
Publisher Comments
The publication of in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's and George Orwell's , this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $9.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Rebirth of Europe
Rebirth of Europe
by Elizabeth Pond
Publisher Comments
The rejuvenation of Europe as a totalitarian century ends and a global century begins is a remarkable story. This book brings together the three dynamics of Europe's position at this extraordinary moment: European monetary union, the deepening of intra... (read more)

List Price $18.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Strange Rebels: 1979 and the Birth of the 21st Century
Strange Rebels: 1979 and the Birth of the 21st Century
by Christian Caryl
Publisher Comments
Few moments in history have seen as many seismic transformations as 1979. That single year marked the emergence of revolutionary Islam as a political force on the world stage, the beginning of market revolutions in China and Britain that would fuel... (read more)

List Price $28.99
Your price: $10.98
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


Thinking the Twentieth Century
Thinking the Twentieth Century
by Tony Judt
Publisher Comments
"Ideas crackle" in this triumphant final book of Tony Judt, taking readers on "a wild ride through the ideological currents and shoals of 20th century thought.” (Los Angeles Times) One of our most brilliant historians, Tony Judt... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $12.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The War of the World: Twentieth-Century Conflict and the Descent of the West
The War of the World: Twentieth-Century Conflict and the Descent of the West
by Niall Ferguson
Publisher Comments
Astonishing in its scope and erudition, this is the magnum opus that Niall Ferguson's numerous acclaimed works have been leading up to. In it, he grapples with perhaps the most challenging questions of modern history: Why was the twentieth century... (read more)

List Price $23.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Atlantic and Its Enemies: A History of the Cold War
The Atlantic and Its Enemies: A History of the Cold War
by Norman Stone
Publisher Comments
Pre-eminent historian Norman Stones The Atlantic and Its Enemies is a masterful history of the Cold War. As Soviet influence spread insidiously from nation to nation, the Americans and British were overwhelmed by the coups, collapsing armies, and civil... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern Europe
The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern Europe
by T. C. W. Blanning
Publisher Comments
Modern Europeans, argues T. C. W. Blanning, are characterized by the conviction that the ground is moving beneath their feet. Among other things, it has given them a strong sense of dynamism: the world is changing, it can be changed, and so it should be... (read more)

List Price $22.50
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Time 100: Heroes & Inspirations Person of the Century
Time 100: Heroes & Inspirations Person of the Century
by Time Inc
Publisher Comments
Memorable portraits of 20 great people who have led humanity through inspirational words and deeds. Time's editors designate the famed "Person of the Century."... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $1.00
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Facts Are Subversive: Political Writing from a Decade Without a Name
Facts Are Subversive: Political Writing from a Decade Without a Name
by Timothy Garton Ash
Publisher Comments
Timothy Garton Ash is well known as an astute and penetrating observer of a dazzling array of subjects, not least through his many contributions to the New York Review of Books. This collection of his essays from the last decade reveals his knack for... (read more)

List Price $35.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Hunting Evil: The Nazi War Criminals Who Escaped and the Quest to Bring Them to Justice
Hunting Evil: The Nazi War Criminals Who Escaped and the Quest to Bring Them to Justice
by Guy Walters
Publisher Comments
Already acclaimed in England as "first-rate" (The Sunday Times); “a model of meticulous, courageous and path-breaking scholarship"(Literary Review); and "absorbing and thoroughly gripping… deserves a lasting place among histories of the war.&... (read more)

List Price $26.99
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Odd Man Out: Truman, Stalin, Mao, and the Origins of the Korean War
Odd Man Out: Truman, Stalin, Mao, and the Origins of the Korean War
by Richard C Thornton
Publisher Comments
Odd Man Out is a novel assessment of the motives and strategies of Harry Truman, Joseph Stalin, and Mao Zedong as they struggled to maneuver their countries into positions of advantage in the postwar world. Their successes and failures resulted in the... (read more)

List Price $23.95
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


History of the Present: Dispatches from Europe
History of the Present: Dispatches from Europe
by Timothy Garton Ash
Publisher Comments
andldquo;Why are Kazakhstan and Montana the same place?andrdquo; asks one chapter of Kate Brownandrsquo;s surprising and unusual journey into the histories of places on the margins, overlooked or erased. It turns out that a ruined mining town in... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Long to Reign
Long to Reign
by A W Purdue
Publisher Comments
At the beginning of the twentieth century, monarchy was by far the most common form of government: emperors sat on the thrones of Germany, Austria-Hungary, Persia, China, Russia and the Ottoman Empire, while there were kings of Bulgaria, Serbia, Italy... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


1913: In Search of the World Before the Great War
1913: In Search of the World Before the Great War
by Charles Emmerson
Publisher Comments
Today, 1913 is inevitably viewed through the lens of 1914: as the last year before a war that would shatter the global economic order and tear Europe apart, undermining its global pre-eminence. Our perspectives narrowed by hindsight, the world of that... (read more)

List Price $30.00
Your price: $10.98
Sale - Hardcover

add to wish list


«prev 1 ... 3 4 5 7 ... 13 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 251 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Western Civilization
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.