Brain Candy Sale

Featured in Literature

Browse in Literature

Browse in Fiction and Poetry

Narrow by...




Bestsellers in Literature

October 12, 2015
  1. Purity
    by Jonathan Franzen
  2. Wildwood (The Wildwood Chronicles #1)
    by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis
  3. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
    by Ransom Riggs
  4. Ready Player One
    by Ernest Cline
  5. Go Set a Watchman
    by Harper Lee
  6. The House on Mango Street (Vintage Contemporaries)
    by Sandra Cisneros
  7. All the Light We Cannot See
    by Anthony Doerr
  8. Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
    by Susannah Cahalan
  9. Station Eleven
    by Emily St. John Mandel
  10. Secondhand Souls Signed 1st Edition
    by Christopher Moore
  11. see more

Author Events


Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Thursday, October 22, 2015

A to Z
Browse more titles in A to Z

The Needs of Strangers

Michael Ignatieff

"Ignatieff has invoked the understanding, the wisdom, and the eloquence of some of the seminal thinkers in the Western tradition to help revive a sense of what we are or should be talking about when we talk about the needs of strangers."—Merle... (read more)

New Arrivals
Browse more New Arrivals in Literature

  1. The Bully of Order Used Trade Paper $10.95
  2. The Heart of a Man (Classic Reprint) New Trade Paper $19.75
  3. The Duchess Emilia a Romance... New Trade Paper $14.50
  4. With the Battle Fleet: Cruise of the... New Trade Paper $16.25
  5. Treasure Island (Puffin Pixels) Used Trade Paper $8.50
  6. The Hallowing of Criticism: Nine... New Trade Paper $13.75

Browse more New Arrivals in Literature

Recently Arrived Used
Browse more Recently Arrived Used in Literature

  1. Speaking from Among the Bones: A...
    Used Hardcover $12.50
  2. Zion Covenant #01: Vienna Prelude
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Gone Girl
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. The Day Before Midnight Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. The Carrie Diaries TV Tie-In Edition Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. Paul Clifford Used Trade Paper $7.95

Browse more Recently Arrived Used in Literature

Coming of Age
Browse more titles in Coming of Age

Rumors of Peace (P.S.)

Ella Leffland

To ten-year-old Suse Hansen, the fighting in Europe seems far away from the blue skies and quiet streets of her Bay Area home in Mendoza, California—despite newspaper war photographs and the tense radio broadcasts. But Pearl Harbor changes... (read more)

Sale Books
Browse more titles in Sale Books

The Jump-Off Creek

Molly Gloss

Set in the brutal Oregon high country in the 1890s, The Jump-Off Creek tells the story of the widow Lydia Sanderson and her struggles to settle in an unforgiving land. Gloss did her research, drawing on pioneer journals and hand-me-down stories, and she... (read more)

New Arrivals
Browse more titles in New Arrivals

The Country of Ice Cream Star

Sandra Newman

In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her nomadic tribe live off the detritus of a fallen civilization. Theirs is a world of children; before reaching the age of twenty, they all die of a disease they call Posies—... (read more)

Browse more titles in Holiday


John Gardner

It's easy to find oneself in the thrall of hanks of blond hair and mead-fueled heroism, but it is a more difficult task to regard, with care, the heart of a monster. The monster (but is he?) in question is Grendel, an introspective animal who loves his... (read more)

Family Life
Browse more titles in Family Life

As Night Falls

Jenny Milchman

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family - a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy... (read more)

Contemporary Women
Browse more titles in Contemporary Women

So Much a Part of You

Polly Dugan

Two young women who've dated the same man navigate love, destiny, loss, and choice in this powerful debut. Anna Riley and Anne Cavanaugh have had a lover in common, but it's not until a pivotal moment in one of their lives that their paths unforgettably... (read more)

Harper Perennial Olive Editions
Browse more titles in Harper Perennial Olive Editions

State of Wonder

Ann Patchett

In a narrative replete with poison arrows, devouring snakes, scientific miracles, and spiritual transformations, State of Wonder presents a world of stunning surprise and danger, rich in emotional resonance and moral complexity. As Dr. Marina Singh... (read more)

Sort by: Showing 1 thru 25 of 796,664.

  1. Purity
    Used Hardcover $19.50
  2. Wildwood (The Wildwood Chronicles #1)
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. Ready Player One
    New Trade Paper $14.00
  5. Go Set a Watchman
    Used Hardcover $19.50
  6. The House on Mango Street (Vintage...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  7. All the Light We Cannot See
    Used Hardcover $18.50
  8. Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  9. Station Eleven
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  10. Secondhand Souls Signed 1st Edition New Hardcover $26.99
  11. To Kill a Mockingbird
    Used Mass Market $6.50
  12. Wind/Pinball: Two Novels
    Sale Hardcover $18.17
  13. Two Years Eight Months and...
    New Hardcover $28.00
  14. Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate...
    Used Trade Paper $12.95
  15. The Girl on the Train
    Used Hardcover $17.50
  16. Adulting: How to Become a Grown-Up...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  17. The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller...
    Used Mass Market $6.50
  18. Wild: From Lost to Found on the...
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  19. Everything I Never Told You
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  20. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His...
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  21. The Magicians
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  22. The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  23. Americanah
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  24. Fates and Furies
    Used Hardcover $19.50
  25. The Art of Memoir Used Hardcover $15.95

1 3 4 5 ... 31,867 next»

  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at