Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

Eastern Europe
Used Books

There are 142 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Eastern Europe - Used Books
Page 3 of 8 next

The Risk of War: Everyday Sociality in the Republic of Macedonia (Ethnography of Political Violence)
The Risk of War: Everyday Sociality in the Republic of Macedonia (Ethnography of Political Violence)
by Vasiliki P Neofotistos
Publisher Comments
The Risk of War focuses on practices and performances of everyday life across ethnonational borders during the six-month armed conflict in 2001 between Macedonian government forces and the Albanian National Liberation Army (NLA)--a conflict initiated by... (read more)

List Price $61.25
Your price: $16.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Walls Came Tumbling Down: The Collapse of Communism in Eastern Europe
The Walls Came Tumbling Down: The Collapse of Communism in Eastern Europe
by Gale Stokes
Publisher Comments
Gale Stokes' The Walls Came Tumbling Down has been one of the standard interpretations of the East European revolutions of 1989 for many years. It offers a sweeping yet vivid narrative of the two decades of developments that led from the Prague Spring of... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Three Eras of Political Change in Eastern Europe
Three Eras of Political Change in Eastern Europe
by Gale Stokes
TOC
Introduction... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $8.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Serpent in the Bosom: The Rise and Fall of the Slobodan Milosevic
Serpent in the Bosom: The Rise and Fall of the Slobodan Milosevic
by Lenard Cohen
Book News Annotation
Analyzing Serbian politics from 1987 to 2000, Cohen (political science, Simon Fraser U., British Columbia) centers on Milosevic's rise to power, his pattern of rule, the war in Kosovo, and the recent democratic revolution. He also explores the leader... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $11.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Balkan Inferno: Betrayal, War and Intervention 1990-2005
Balkan Inferno: Betrayal, War and Intervention 1990-2005
by Wes Johnson
Synopsis
The inside story of the break up of Yugoslavia and the bloody events that followed.... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Fall of Milosevic: The October 5th Revolution
The Fall of Milosevic: The October 5th Revolution
by Dragan Bujosevic
Review
"Their vivid, fast-paced account gives a good sense of the chaos and excitement..."--Marcia L. Sprules, Library Journal "A fascinating, truly pioneering account of the political and human drama that took in place on October 5, 2000 in Belgrade. Based on... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Rebirth of History: Eastern Europe in the Age of Democracy
Rebirth of History: Eastern Europe in the Age of Democracy
by Misha Glenny
Publisher Comments
A newly revised and updated edition of an award-winning BBC correspondent's magisterial history of the Balkan region This unique and lively history of Balkan geopolitics since the early nineteenth century gives readers the essential historical... (read more)

List Price $9.95
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Retuning Culture: Musical Changes in Central and Eastern Europe
Retuning Culture: Musical Changes in Central and Eastern Europe
by Mark Slobin
Synopsis
""Retuning Culture" explores vital new ground in the way musical--as opposed to broad cultural--change has occurred recently in Eastern and Central Europe. It adds substantially to our knowledge of how musical behavior, performance, and traditions act... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Twelve Days: The Story of the 1956 Hungarian Revolution
Twelve Days: The Story of the 1956 Hungarian Revolution
by Victor Sebestyen
Book News Annotation
A native of Hungary, Sebestyen lives in England where he has worked for numerous British newspapers, including the London Evening Standard; his family fled from Hungary when he was a small child. On the 50th anniversary of the Hungarian Revolution, he... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $16.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Of Walls and Bridges: The United States and Eastern Europe
Of Walls and Bridges: The United States and Eastern Europe
by Bennett Kovrig
About the Author
Samir Amin is director of the Third World Forum in Dakar, Senegal. His numerous works include The Liberal Virus, Accumulation on a World Scale, Unequal Development, and Spectres of Capitalism.... (read more)

List Price $33.50
Your price: $4.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe
The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe
by Marci Shore
Publisher Comments
An inventive, wholly original look at the complex psyche of Eastern Europe in the wake of the revolutions of 1989 and the opening of the communist archives.      In the tradition of Timothy Garton Ash’s The File, Yale historian... (read more)

List Price $27.00
Your price: $18.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Trapped in the Cold War: The Ordeal of an American Family
Trapped in the Cold War: The Ordeal of an American Family
by Hermann Field
Review
"The book is written from two different perspectives . . . interwoven with great skill, even elegance, and the reader is thus treated to a powerful and multi-dimensional narrative that is bound to become a classic. It will be required reading for anyone... (read more)

List Price $60.25
Your price: $10.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Balkan Ghosts : a Journey Through History (05 Edition)
Balkan Ghosts : a Journey Through History (05 Edition)
by Robert D. Kaplan
Publisher Comments
On the day that Paris fell to the Nazis, R. G. Waldeck was checking into the swankiest hotel in Bucharest, the Athene Palace. A cosmopolitan center during the war, the hotel was populated by Italian and German oilmen hoping to secure new business... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $10.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Terrible Revenge (2ND 06 Edition)
Terrible Revenge (2ND 06 Edition)
by Alfred M. De Zayas
Review
Praise for the first edition: "De Zayas has uncovered testimony in German and American archives detailing these atrocities, adding a new chapter to the annals of human cruelty. His carefully documented book serves as a reminder that many different... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $14.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Suffled How It Gush: A North American Anarchist in the Balkans
Suffled How It Gush: A North American Anarchist in the Balkans
Publisher Comments
Shon Meckfessel appropriates the peculiar slogan of an Albanian mineral water company as the title for this uniquely intellectual book. Equal parts journalism, history, and personal memoir, Suffled How it Gush records Shonandrsquo;s travels throughout... (read more)

This Edition: SOLD OUT
add to wish list


Fall of Yugoslavia 3RD Edition
Fall of Yugoslavia 3RD Edition
by Misha Glenny
About the Author
The longtime central European correspondent for the BBC World Service based in Vienna, Misha Glenny has lived in and worked all over the Balkans. His books include The Rebirth of History and The Fall of Yugoslavia, winner of the 1992 Overseas Press Club... (read more)

List Price $22.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Madness Visible: A Memoir of War
Madness Visible: A Memoir of War
by Janine Di Giovanni
About the Author
US... (read more)

List Price $15.25
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Journey to a Revolution: A Personal Memoir and History of the Hungarian Revolution of 1956
Journey to a Revolution: A Personal Memoir and History of the Hungarian Revolution of 1956
by Michael Korda
About the Author
Michael Korda is the New York Times bestselling author of Charmed Lives, Ike, Country Matters, Ulysses S. Grant, and Journey to a Revolution. The Editor in Chief Emeritus of Simon & Schuster, he lives in Dutchess County, New York.... (read more)

List Price $24.95
Your price: $13.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's Ghosts After Communism
The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's Ghosts After Communism
by Tina Rosenberg
Publisher Comments
US... (read more)

List Price $17.95
Your price: $7.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


A Guest in My Own Country: A Hungarian Life
A Guest in My Own Country: A Hungarian Life
by George Konrad
This Edition: SOLD OUT
add to wish list


«prev 1 3 5 ... 8 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 142 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Eastern Europe
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.