Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores

Journalism
Used Books

There are 1269 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Journalism - Used Books
Page 1 of 64 next

The Psychopath Test: A Journey through the Madness Industry
The Psychopath Test: A Journey through the Madness Industry
by Jon Ronson
Publisher Comments
They say one out of every hundred people is a psychopath. You probably passed one on the street today. These are people who have no empathy, who are manipulative, deceitful, charming, seductive, and delusional. The Psychopath Test is the New York Times... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Up in the Old Hotel: and Other Stories
Up in the Old Hotel: and Other Stories
by Joseph Mitchell
Staff Pick
Joseph Mitchell wrote these stories and more for the New Yorker. Technically, they are nonfiction pieces — Mitchell's books are shelved mostly in literature and journalism. But his prose reads like some of the finest fiction the magazine's published.... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
by Hunter S. Thompson
Publisher Comments
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page. It is also the tale of a long weekend road trip that has gone down in the annals of American pop culture as one... (read more)

List Price $14.95
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir
Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir
by Hds Greenway
Publisher Comments
David Greenway, a journalistand#8217;s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what itand#8217;s like to report a war up close.andlt;brandgt;andlt;brandgt;Reporter David... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $17.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Encounters with the Archdruid
Encounters with the Archdruid
by John Mcphee
Publisher Comments
The narratives in this book are of journeys made in three wildernesses - on a coastal island, in a Western mountain range, and on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. The four men portrayed here have different relationships to their environment, and... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby
The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby
by Tom Wolfe
Publisher Comments
Bestselling author Tom Wolfe introduces the 1960s through essays about extravagant new styles of life, the Beatles, bouffant hairdos, Kar Kustomizers, and much more.... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Rum Diary
The Rum Diary
by Hunter S Thompson
Publisher Comments
Begun in 1959 by a twenty-two-year-old Hunter S. Thompson, The Rum Diary is a brilliantly tangled love story of jealousy, treachery, and violent alcoholic lust in the Caribbean boomtown that was San Juan, Puerto Rico, in the late 1950s. The narrator... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $3.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


This Just In: What I Couldn't Tell You on TV
This Just In: What I Couldn't Tell You on TV
by Bob Schieffer
Publisher Comments
In Bob Schieffer's own words, from the JFK assassination to the World Trade Center attacks, "I got to see most of it and came to know many of the major figures of those four decades because I am a reporter. I became a reporter because I always wanted to... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $5.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


In Suspect Terrain
In Suspect Terrain
by John Mcphee
Publisher Comments
From the outwash plains of Brooklyn to Indianas drifted diamonds and gold In Suspect Terrain is a narrative of the earth, told in four sections of equal length, each in a different way reflecting the three othersa biography; a set piece about a fragment... (read more)

List Price $17.00
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Informing the News: The Need for Knowledge-Based Journalism
Informing the News: The Need for Knowledge-Based Journalism
by Thomas E Patterson
Publisher Comments
Excerpted from the Introduction INTRODUCTION The Corruption of Information Incompetence and aimlessness, corruption and disloyalty, panic and ultimate disaster, must come to any people which is denied access to the facts. No one can manage anything on... (read more)

List Price $15.00
Your price: $10.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Fear and Loathing in America: The Brutal Odyssey of an Outlaw Journalist
Fear and Loathing in America: The Brutal Odyssey of an Outlaw Journalist
by Hunter S. Thompson
Publisher Comments
Brazen, incisive, and outrageous as ever, Hunter S. Thompson is back with another astonishing volume of his private correspondence, the highly anticipated follow-up to The Proud Highway. When that first book of letters appeared in 1997, Time pronounced... (read more)

List Price $30.00
Your price: $8.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Listen Up, Mr. President: Everything You Always Wanted Your President to Know and Do
Listen Up, Mr. President: Everything You Always Wanted Your President to Know and Do
by Helen Thomas
Publisher Comments
Helen Thomas has covered the administrations of ten presidents in a career spanning nearly sixty years. She is known for her famous press conference closing line, "Thank you, Mr. President," but here she trades deference for directness. Thomas and... (read more)

List Price $24.00
Your price: $3.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Tell Me No Lies: Investigative Journalism That Changed the World
Tell Me No Lies: Investigative Journalism That Changed the World
by John Pilger
Publisher Comments
Prison scandals, terrorism, corporate fraud, election rigging—most likely you have heard something of the sort in the last ten minutes. But what is truth and what is part of the great "washout" of biased reporting? A celebration of lucid... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Remembering Denny
Remembering Denny
by Calvin Trillin
Publisher Comments
A reissue of Calvin Trillin's memoir of his relationship with a brilliant but tragic Yale classmate that is also a rumination on social change in the 1950s and 1960s Remembering Denny is perhaps Calvin Trillin's most inspired and powerful book: a memoir... (read more)

List Price $13.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Wikileaks: Inside Julian Assange's War on Secrecy
Wikileaks: Inside Julian Assange's War on Secrecy
by David Leigh
Publisher Comments
A team of journalists with unparalleled inside access provides the first full, in-depth account of WikiLeaks, its founder Julian Assange, and the ethical, legal, and political controversies it has both uncovered and provoked.... (read more)

List Price $15.99
Your price: $2.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Hell's Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga
Hell's Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga
by Hunter S Thompson
Review
"Thompson has presented us with a close view of a world most of us would never encounter. His language is brilliant, his eye remarkable." --The New York Times Book Review "Superb and terrifying."    --Studs Terkel,... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $7.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Tender Bar: A Memoir
The Tender Bar: A Memoir
by J. R. Moehringer
Publisher Comments
A moving, vividly told memoir full of heart, drama, and exquisite comic timing, about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. J.R. Moehringer grew up listening for a voice: It was the sound of his missing father, a disc jockey who... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Into the Buzzsaw: Leading Journalists Expose the Myth of a Free Press
Into the Buzzsaw: Leading Journalists Expose the Myth of a Free Press
by Kristina Borjesson
Synopsis
Writing in riveting detail about their personal experiences with corporate efforts to kill their controversial stories and their careers, nearly two dozen print and TV journalists present devastating essays about the dangerous state of American... (read more)

List Price $26.00
Your price: $3.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Bullfighter Checks Her Makeup
The Bullfighter Checks Her Makeup
by Susan Orlean
Publisher Comments
Now in paperback comes the wonderfully entertaining, bestselling collection of the "New Yorker" writer's brightest profiles. "A voyeur's delight: expertly framed windows into the cosmology of the human experience . . . (these profiles) reintroduce... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Reporting Vietnam: Media and Military at War (Modern War Studies)
Reporting Vietnam: Media and Military at War (Modern War Studies)
by William M Hammond
Publisher Comments
For many Americans during the Vietnam era, the war on the home front seemed nearly as wrenching and hardfought as the one in Southeast Asia. Its primary battlefield was the news media, its primary casualty the truth. But as William Hammond reveals... (read more)

List Price $34.95
Your price: $9.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 64 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 1269 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Journalism
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.