Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores

Western Civilization
Used Books

There are 1688 books in this aisle.
Browse the aisle by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.

Featured Titles in Western Civilization - Used Books
Page 1 of 85 next

1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
by Charles C. Mann
Staff Pick
Charles C. Mann has pulled off an impressive feat — a scholarly, thorough work of history that's almost compulsively readable. In 1491, he summarizes and examines the last thirty years of research into the pre-Columbian Americas, and comes to some... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $9.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Salt: A World History
Salt: A World History
by Mark Kurlansky
Publisher Comments
The additive that flows under the radar The most popular drug in America is a white powder. No, not that powder. This is caffeine in its most essential state. And Caffeinated reveals the little-known truth about this addictive, largely unregulated drug... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $5.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
by Stephen Greenblatt
Publisher Comments
One of the world's most celebrated scholars, Stephen Greenblatt has crafted both an innovative work of history and a thrilling story of discovery, in which one manuscript, plucked from a thousand years of neglect, changed the course of human thought and... (read more)

List Price $16.95
Your price: $9.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


How the Irish Saved Civilization: The Untold Story of Ireland's Heroic Role from the Fall of Rome to Rise of Medieval Europe (Hinges of History)
How the Irish Saved Civilization: The Untold Story of Ireland's Heroic Role from the Fall of Rome to Rise of Medieval Europe (Hinges of History)
by Thomas Cahill
Publisher Comments
A delightful and illuminating look into a crucial but little known "hinge" of history in which the author shows that the Irish were not only conservators of civilization, but became shapers of the medieval mind, putting their unique stamp on Western... (read more)

List Price $15.95
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
by Stephen Greenblatt
Publisher Comments
One of the world's most celebrated scholars, Stephen Greenblatt has crafted both an innovative work of history and a thrilling story of discovery, in which one manuscript, plucked from a thousand years of neglect, changed the course of human thought and... (read more)

List Price $26.95
Your price: $14.00
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


A Little History of the World
A Little History of the World
by E H Gombrich
Publisher Comments
E. H. Gombrich’s bestselling history of the world for young readers tells the story of mankind from the Stone Age to the atomic bomb, focusing not on small detail but on the sweep of human experience, the extent of human achievement, and the depth... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $11.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Brunelleschi's Dome: How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture
Brunelleschi's Dome: How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture
by Ross King
Staff Pick
Of the many transformations that architecture has undergone throughout history, none is more important to the Renaissance than Filippo Brunelleschi's dome design for the Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral in Florence. Few books have introduced Renaissance... (read more)

List Price $13.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The History of the Peloponnesian War: Revised Edition (Penguin Classics)
The History of the Peloponnesian War: Revised Edition (Penguin Classics)
by Thucydides
Publisher Comments
Written four hundred years before the birth of Christ, this detailed contemporary account of the struggle between Athens and Sparta stands an excellent chance of fulfilling the author's ambitious claim that the work "was done to last forever." The... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Bloodlands: Europe Between Hitler and Stalin
Bloodlands: Europe Between Hitler and Stalin
by Timothy Snyder
Publisher Comments
Americans call the Second World War “The Good War.” But before it even began, Americas wartime ally Josef Stalin had killed millions of his own citizens—and kept killing them during and after the war. Before Hitler was finally defeated... (read more)

List Price $19.99
Your price: $12.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
by Nancy Goldstone
Publisher Comments
For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser,acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone’s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling—and shaping—thirteenth-century Europe Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $8.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Vanished Kingdoms (12 Edition)
Vanished Kingdoms (12 Edition)
by Norman Davies
Publisher Comments
From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent... (read more)

List Price $25.00
Your price: $13.00
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Alexander the Great
Alexander the Great
by Robin Lane Fox
Publisher Comments
Tough, resolute, fearless. Alexander was a born warrior and a ruler of passionate ambition who understood the intense adventure of conquest and of the unknown. When he died in 323 B.C.E. at age thirty-two, his vast empire comprised more than two million... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $3.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Classical World: An Epic History from Homer to Hadrian
Classical World: An Epic History from Homer to Hadrian
by Robin Lane Fox
Publisher Comments
The classical civilizations of Greece and Rome once dominated the world, and they continue to fascinate and inspire us. Classical art and architecture, drama and epic, philosophy and politics-these are the foundations of Western civilization. In The... (read more)

List Price $21.99
Your price: $9.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Life in a Medieval Village
Life in a Medieval Village
by Frances Gies
Publisher Comments
This account of medieval villages emphasizes the daily life of peasants-their food, housing and family life; the threatening tensions between them and the lord of the manor; and the place of the Church in their lives.... (read more)

List Price $14.99
Your price: $7.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Justinian's Flea: The First Great Plague and the End of the Roman Empire
Justinian's Flea: The First Great Plague and the End of the Roman Empire
by William Rosen
Publisher Comments
The epic story of the collision between one of nature?s smallest organisms and history?s mightiest empire During the golden age of the Roman Empire, Emperor Justinian reigned over a territory that stretched from Italy to North Africa. It was the zenith... (read more)

List Price $17.00
Your price: $4.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


The Lost Empire of Atlantis: The Secrets of History's Most Enduring Mystery Revealed
The Lost Empire of Atlantis: The Secrets of History's Most Enduring Mystery Revealed
by Gavin Menzies
Publisher Comments
The astonishing true story of Atlantis In 1500 B.C. a supervolcano beneath the Greek island of Santorini exploded in a near-apocalyptic eruption. Buried beneath the rubble and waves was the worlds most remarkable lost civilization. . . . New York Times... (read more)

List Price $26.99
Your price: $9.95
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


Distant Mirror: The Calamitous 14th Century
Distant Mirror: The Calamitous 14th Century
by Barbara W Tuchman
Publisher Comments
Barbara W. Tuchman (1912–1989) achieved prominence as a historian with The Zimmermann Telegram and international fame with The Guns of August—a huge bestseller and winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Her other works include Bible and Sword, The... (read more)

List Price $18.00
Your price: $6.95
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World
Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World
by Thomas Cahill
Publisher Comments
From the inimitable bestselling author Thomas Cahill, another popular history — this one focusing on how the innovations of the Renaissance and the Reformation changed the Western world. A truly revolutionary book. In Volume VI of his acclaimed... (read more)

List Price $29.95
Your price: $19.50
Used - Hardcover

add to wish list


The Vanished Library
The Vanished Library
by Luciano Canfora
Publisher Comments
The Library of Alexandria, one of the wonders of the Ancient World, has haunted Western culture for over 2,000 years. The Ptolemaic kings of Egypt--successors of Alexander the Great--had a staggering ambition: to house all of the books ever written under... (read more)

List Price $17.95
Your price: $5.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


Black Death
Black Death
by Philip Ziegler
Publisher Comments
Filled with hundreds of specific examples and organized into a coherent framework of practical concepts that can be applied by managers and entrepreneurs at all levels, Built to Last provides a master blueprint for building organizations that will... (read more)

List Price $16.00
Your price: $6.50
Used - Trade Paper

add to wish list


1 3 4 5 ... 85 next»


Browse the entire aisle:
by Title | by Author | by Price
See recently arrived used books in this aisle.
There are 1688 books in this aisle.

This way to more aisles in Western Civilization
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.