Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Princess Curse

by

The Princess Curse Cover

ISBN13: 9780062008138
ISBN10: 0062008137
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $11.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Merrie Haskells middle-grade fantasy novel Princess Curse is an imaginative retelling of the fairy tales The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Beauty and the Beast.
 
In the fifteenth-century kingdom of Sylvania, the prince offers a fabulous reward to anyone who cures the curse that forces the princesses to spend each night dancing to the point of exhaustion. Everyone who tries disappears or falls into an enchanted sleep.
 
Thirteen-year-old Reveka, a smart, courageous herbalists apprentice, decides to attempt to break the curse despite the danger. Unravelling the mystery behind the curse leads Reveka to the Underworld, and to save the princesses, Reveka will have to risk her soul.
 
Princess Curse combines magic, suspense, humor, and adventure into a story perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine.

Review:

"Debut author Haskell has her way with the story of 'The Twelve Dancing Princesses,' incorporating references to other myths and legends and adding many twists of her own, not least of which is making the royals' attempted rescuer a strong-willed, 13-year-old apprentice herbalist, Reveka. In her opinion, the curse that has befallen Prince Vasile's 12 daughters is 'the stupidest curse in existence! So what if the princesses are sleepy during the day, and their slippers are holey in the morning? It's a curse of shoes and naps.' Nonetheless, when Vasile offers the hand of any of his daughters in marriage to anyone who banishes the curse (or a 'fabulous dowry' if the curse-breaker is female), Reveka is determined to win the reward. Her search intensifies when a fellow herbalist's family is affected by the curse, and war threatens, but Reveka soon realizes that herbs, magic, and spirit are no match for the deep roots of this mystery. With a good sense of humor, an able and empowered protagonist, and a highly original take on this tale, Haskell's story gives readers much to enjoy. Ages 10 — up. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Twelve princesses suffer from a puzzling (if silly) curse, and anyone who ends it will win a reward. Reveka, a sharp-witted and irreverent apprentice herbalist, wants that reward. But her investigations lead to deeper mysteries and a daunting choice—will she break the curse at the peril of her own soul?

About the Author

Merrie Haskell lives in Saline, Michigan, where she works in a library. This is her first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

arielibra, August 9, 2012 (view all comments by arielibra)
Loved it, recommended it. Fascinating mashup of more myths than you expect, and a heroine who thinks -- and acts -- outside the box.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062008138
Author:
Haskell, Merrie
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20110906
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 22.8 oz
Age Level:
from 10

Other books you might like

  1. Waiting for Normal Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Familiars #02: Secrets of the Crown Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The City of Ember
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Turtle in Paradise
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Tentacles Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

The Princess Curse Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages HarperCollins - English 9780062008138 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Debut author Haskell has her way with the story of 'The Twelve Dancing Princesses,' incorporating references to other myths and legends and adding many twists of her own, not least of which is making the royals' attempted rescuer a strong-willed, 13-year-old apprentice herbalist, Reveka. In her opinion, the curse that has befallen Prince Vasile's 12 daughters is 'the stupidest curse in existence! So what if the princesses are sleepy during the day, and their slippers are holey in the morning? It's a curse of shoes and naps.' Nonetheless, when Vasile offers the hand of any of his daughters in marriage to anyone who banishes the curse (or a 'fabulous dowry' if the curse-breaker is female), Reveka is determined to win the reward. Her search intensifies when a fellow herbalist's family is affected by the curse, and war threatens, but Reveka soon realizes that herbs, magic, and spirit are no match for the deep roots of this mystery. With a good sense of humor, an able and empowered protagonist, and a highly original take on this tale, Haskell's story gives readers much to enjoy. Ages 10 — up. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Twelve princesses suffer from a puzzling (if silly) curse, and anyone who ends it will win a reward. Reveka, a sharp-witted and irreverent apprentice herbalist, wants that reward. But her investigations lead to deeper mysteries and a daunting choice—will she break the curse at the peril of her own soul?
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.